Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized music

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

pshock13
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:12 pm

Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized music

Post by pshock13 » Thu May 22, 2014 10:52 am

So, I jut recently built a new desktop and I would like to change up my media a little bit.

Originally, I had a laptop that i kept a 1TB HDD connected to it that had all my music on it. (so as to not take up space on the laptops HDD)

The computer that i have now has two HDDs in it, one specifically for all my media. I would like to keep all the media on my external drive (G:) as a back up and use the second HDD in the computer (D:) as the drive that media monkey plays from. So my question is, is there a way to have MM organize and play from D: but also have it COPY those file to G: either when new music is scanned or when the HDD G: is plugged in?

Lowlander
Posts: 47535
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized musi

Post by Lowlander » Thu May 22, 2014 11:06 am

Not really. You could use one location as the Virtual CD, but you'll manually send files to the Virtual CD. The nice thing about Virtual CD though is that both original and Virtual CD copy are seen as the same file in MediaMonkey so you see no duplicates. MediaMonkey will automatically choose which to play.

Do note that MediaMonkey wants the Virtual CD to be accessible on start so it's not recommended to have it on a drive that isn't always present.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

pshock13
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized musi

Post by pshock13 » Thu May 22, 2014 12:04 pm

I've been searching for solutions way before posting this topic.

After a few days of searching I think I may have found an external solution.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/7604/syn ... nctoy-2.1/

as far as I know this is for Windows 7 only, I'll give it a try on 8 when I get a chance. but as i can tell this will sync my files both ways so even when MM makes auto-organize changes to D:, they will be reflected in H:. and you can also setup task scheduler to have it run automatically.

would be great to see this feature embedded into MM
(where do I go to suggest this)

Lowlander
Posts: 47535
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized musi

Post by Lowlander » Thu May 22, 2014 12:43 pm

That's a standard Backup software of which there are many options I use Karen's Replicator for this: http://www.karenware.com/powertools/ptreplicator.asp
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

pshock13
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized musi

Post by pshock13 » Thu May 22, 2014 12:50 pm

hmm, look's promising. gonna go ahead and try both.

still would be nice to have thing kind of software embedded for MM.

Lowlander
Posts: 47535
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized musi

Post by Lowlander » Thu May 22, 2014 1:10 pm

The author of the Backup Addon has indicate interest to look into file backup: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... lit=backup


Also note that d_USBMass1.dll can be configure to sync to any drive letter, thus you can use sync to backup files as well.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

pshock13
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: Would like two loactions of the same auto-organized musi

Post by pshock13 » Thu May 22, 2014 1:24 pm

That .dll sync may work exactly for what im trying to do. thanks.

Post Reply