monkey's being hung in background on closeing

This forum is for questions / discussions regarding development of addons / tweaks for MediaMonkey.

Moderator: Gurus

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

monkey's being hung in background on closeing

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:48 am

oh why have no scripters bothered to post a script for this.
it is normal thing to do.
i'm not a programmer i couldn't think of how to do it but a scripter should be able to open and close any program and its processes with a script.

i'm not just spoutting off in madness here, for i had asked for a script to do this very thing years ago on mm 2.4 or 2.5 and did receive one from i believe diddeleedoo or peke. but was told not to post it why i don't know i guess they wanted to keep their code to themselfs. but it was made back then and i still use it on mm3.2

its a simple script why there is more typing in this message then in the script. it works with out being connected to monkey. so it has to be working through windows os only.

but if one of the scripters would make a script and not care about keeping the code to themselfs and would post it i'm sure that everyone with monkey getting hung would be very greatful.

:D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Peke
Posts: 12500
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: monkey's being hung in background on closeing

Post by Peke » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:18 pm

Not sure what you are talking about?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: monkey's being hung in background on closeing

Post by rovingcowboy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:07 am

then it was diddeleedoo that made it.

just a windows script that closes the program and all the processes it runs, and i use it to close mm 3.2 before i reboot the computer. which i found i had to do on win 98 about 3 times a day. this script permitted me to do that by closeing monkey. it also does the same on win xp pro. with mm 3.2 which i found my xp pro wants rebooted once every day.
so i do it once every morning, ( this also allows the ratings to be adjusted by big bernys script since i have it run on start up ) i use the task scheduler to kick the script and close monkey at the time i want it closed.
just like i use your scripts peke to kick monkey's playlists and change them.

but closing a program with a windows script should be scripting 003 lessons or some place that long ago for most of you. your opening and closing your script's in monkey, whats the difference with making the script use windows instead of monkey? i don't see why a script can't be connected to monkey's closeing by an on exit code to make it run and close all the process trail monkey made.

:D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: monkey's being hung in background on closeing

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:25 am

for those that are wondering what the script is peke said it was not anything new so i could post it

so check this reply post in the windows scheduler script's thread to get the code.

you will see just why i said it is simple. but me not knowing how to script still could not have thought of it.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 15#p241015

:D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply