All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

jitun
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:01 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by jitun » Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:38 am

Today I finished a large part of the plugin. Almost finished the plugin engine that serves pages and handles MediaMonkey. Now the plug in is fully customizable with skin and any functionality that is possible with scripting. And all the functions are accessed using ajax and return JSON. I have attached here a draft of the web interface with just a few buttons and a playlist and clicking on the playlist plays the song. Nothing fancy there but its much better than the older one.

Image
What is seen is not always true

bkenobi69
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:35 pm

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by bkenobi69 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:16 am

Awesome! I've got my PDA charged and ready to go. 8)

jitun
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:01 am
Location: India
Contact:

Make your web interface look and work the way you want it to

Post by jitun » Thu Apr 08, 2010 5:44 am

I finished a working version of the new Web Interface. Now everybody can design their web interface the way they want and can make it function the way they want. I have separated the looks and the function in two parts. In order to make a interface with a certain look and feel one has to look the skin for it. Here I have attached some screenshots of how things look and why can be done with it.

Image

Put the skin directory here. Sorry I have not implemented the browse for folder yet. So just copy paste the folder address here. Then in the skin directory you have to write the functions.vbs file that contains all the functions you will use. Your function can take at max 50 arguments and it may or may not return a value.

Image

You can server any file (HTML pages or images or anything) as shown below.

Image

Here is the download link to the plug-in with the example files in the skin directory

Code: Select all

http://www.codecoax.com/WIMM/Plugins_new_beta.rar
Start making your own web interfaces in the mean time I am improving the web interface engine (i.e. the plug-in itself).
The plug-in is of size 352kb because i still have the old unused codes and resources in it. Will cleanup and make improvement soon. But now start building web-interfaces the way you want. :D
What is seen is not always true

bkenobi69
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:35 pm

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by bkenobi69 » Thu Apr 08, 2010 1:50 pm

Nice! Now to dust off the ancient web coding skills (well, whatever "skills" I had anyway :P ).

Trupal00p
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:33 pm

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by Trupal00p » Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:36 pm

Hmm this only seems to work intermittently on firefox and not at all in chrome. But this has TONS of potential.

**EDIT** Works on the localhost in Internet explorer 8 after I tweaked the security settings. However I am unable to access the web interface from any other computer on the local network.

jitun
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:01 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by jitun » Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:04 am

I use an hidden iframe to run the play,pause and stop commands using the following javascript function

Code: Select all

function runcommand(url)
{
	document.getElementById('iframe1').src=url
	document.getElementById('iframe1').src="about:blank"
}
This works fine in IE and Firefox but not in Chrome. So the fix is just comment like the second line as below..

Code: Select all

function runcommand(url)
{
	document.getElementById('iframe1').src=url
	//document.getElementById('iframe1').src="about:blank"
}
The plugin doesn't do anything except gluing the browser and mediamonkey rest is web design
What is seen is not always true

thorsonb
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:22 am

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by thorsonb » Tue Apr 20, 2010 5:44 am

jitun wrote:
Why did you downloaded 17 files. Download this

http://rapidshare.com/files/15072494/Plugins.zip

and extract them to the "Plugins" folder.
Thanks , but how do i configure my desktop to allow other computers to control the web interface?

I can only access the http://localhost/ on the desktop computer that I am playing the music from.

I would like to also have access to the Web interface when I'm in the kitchen on my iPhone.. or when I'm in my bed with my laptop
"One Good Thing About Music When It Hits You Feel No Pain" - Bob Marley

Follow me on Twitter @ThorsonB
Image

jitun
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:01 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by jitun » Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:48 am

thorsonb wrote:
jitun wrote:
Why did you downloaded 17 files. Download this

http://rapidshare.com/files/15072494/Plugins.zip

and extract them to the "Plugins" folder.
Thanks , but how do i configure my desktop to allow other computers to control the web interface?

I can only access the http://localhost/ on the desktop computer that I am playing the music from.

I would like to also have access to the Web interface when I'm in the kitchen on my iPhone.. or when I'm in my bed with my laptop
use "http://<your_computer's_ip_address>/" to access the webinterface in another computer and if you still cant access it then do a port forwarding (HTTP 80)
What is seen is not always true

Trupal00p
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:33 pm

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by Trupal00p » Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:28 pm

jitun wrote:I use an hidden iframe to run the play,pause and stop commands using the following javascript function

Code: Select all

function runcommand(url)
{
	document.getElementById('iframe1').src=url
	document.getElementById('iframe1').src="about:blank"
}
This works fine in IE and Firefox but not in Chrome. So the fix is just comment like the second line as below..

Code: Select all

function runcommand(url)
{
	document.getElementById('iframe1').src=url
	//document.getElementById('iframe1').src="about:blank"
}
The plugin doesn't do anything except gluing the browser and mediamonkey rest is web design
Ok that worked beautifully. Chrome is controlling my media monkey like a champ.

Now i have new questions:

First - while it does work in chrome, it doesn't work on my palm tx running blazer(its mobile browser). Do you know how i could adjust the code to get it working OR do you know of any good resources that would potentially contain the answer?

Second - Looking at the vb script i can see some good functions. But, it seems there is room for improvement. Is it possible to add more functions to this list? If so, how does the script interface with the Mediamonkey plugin/how would i go about writing extra functions for the plugin.

jitun
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:01 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by jitun » Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:42 pm

Trupal00p wrote:
Ok that worked beautifully. Chrome is controlling my media monkey like a champ.

Now i have new questions:

First - while it does work in chrome, it doesn't work on my palm tx running blazer(its mobile browser). Do you know how i could adjust the code to get it working OR do you know of any good resources that would potentially contain the answer?

Second - Looking at the vb script i can see some good functions. But, it seems there is room for improvement. Is it possible to add more functions to this list? If so, how does the script interface with the Mediamonkey plugin/how would i go about writing extra functions for the plugin.
I don't know much about the mobile browser So cant help you in it. perhaps u will get more info by a Google search :D . Yes of course you can create your own functions in the vb script file. And there is no special requirement to write a function write is the way u normally do for any vb script. however presently i am not sure if global variable is supported or not. and to call a function u have in the vb script file use the following the browser

Code: Select all

/function?fname=test&param1=W&param2=o&param3=r&param4=k&param5=i&param6=n&param7=g
for a vb script function of the type

Code: Select all

function test(param1,param2,param3,param4,param5,param6,param7)...
What is seen is not always true

bkenobi69
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:35 pm

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by bkenobi69 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:21 pm

Hmmm, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here. I updated the plugin with the rar file linked above. I put the skin directory in my plugin directory and pointed to that location. I can open the web page and see the frames, but I always get a message about timing out. Perhaps the functions are having permissions issues being in the Program Files (x86) directory of Windows 7?

EDIT: Nope, that's not it. I copied the skin directory to the D: drive and got the same error.

Code: Select all

gen_httpSrv debug

Error: The script was aborted because execution exceeded the specific timeout period., ; in line 21

dypsis
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Newest Version

Post by dypsis » Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm

The first post says "Go to the last post for the newest version".

How do I find that? :o

Lowlander
Posts: 46275
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by Lowlander » Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:01 am

This seems to be the last version: http://rapidshare.com/files/15072494/Plugins.zip

@jintun, it might be best if you edit the first post to always have the latest version download link as well as feature set.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

dypsis
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: All new improved web interface for Mediamonkey

Post by dypsis » Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:21 am

Lowlander wrote:This seems to be the last version: http://rapidshare.com/files/15072494/Plugins.zip

@jintun, it might be best if you edit the first post to always have the latest version download link as well as feature set.
Thanks mate. And yes, I agree with you Lowlander. :)

dypsis
Posts: 1112
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Basic Instructions Please

Post by dypsis » Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:42 am

It would be nice if someone could write some basic instructions on how to use this plugin.
I have copied the DLLs to the C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins folder.

What next? :o

Post Reply