Monkey Rok 4.1 - Updated 17/08/2009

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

mohikaani
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:25 pm

Post by mohikaani » Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:48 am

Is it possible to add artist biography to MonkeyRok? e.g. text panel?

Last.fm provides this: http://www.last.fm/music/%artist%/+wiki/ and I guess it would be possible to parse the html data from the page..? Another source could be Wikipedia. Maybe this will help:
http://www.last.fm/forum/21604/_/339159

I don't want any heavy web pages as webpanel, I need just the data. Maybe it's possible to implement artist biography also with WebPanels or WebNodes script.

FRD

Post by FRD » Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:10 am

Hay,

I have a problem with monkeyrok,
when i install it, all the letters are big and it doesnt fit good the box.
Does it come by my browser? (I have IE7 but firefox is standard)

i made a screenshot to show it:
Image

thanks

FRD

mohikaani
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:25 pm

Post by mohikaani » Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:31 am

It seems that you have zoomed it in. On MonkeyRok try pressing Ctrl +/- or Ctrl + scroll with mouse.

Guest

Post by Guest » Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:24 am

yes, you're right, it was zoomed, but ctrl+scroll didnt work..
but i found it now, it was a property in my firefox that was wrong i guess

thanks though

greetz

frd

Guest

Post by Guest » Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:28 pm

Question: When I click on any song in the MR panels, it starts to play immediately by booting out currently playing song. Is it possible to make it 'play next' nicely? I didn't see a 'PlayNext' method. No choice but PlaylistAddTrack plus PlaylistMoveTrack methods (complicated)?

Code: Select all

  If alt = False Then
    SDB.Player.CurrentSongIndex = SDB.Player.PlaylistCount-1
    If Not SDB.Player.IsPlaying Then 
      SDB.Player.Play
    End If
  End If
  If Not SDB.Player.IsPlaying Then 
    SDB.Player.Play
  End If
What does alt (=altKey) mean/do?

Thanks! MonkeyRok and AutoAlbumDJ rock! Trixmoto thanks! I modified the latter to queue up a group of songs (classical music) in the same scale; and modified MR to show available songs in the scale. Helps me in learning to identify scales.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:42 pm

@mohikaani - I'll take a look at this for the next release!

@Guest - Pressing the "alt" key will do "Play Last" rather then "Play Now". Currently there is no "Play Next" option.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

chx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:09 pm

Post by chx » Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:32 am

I don't know if this was menthioned befe, but there seem to be a small bug when querying Last.fm for related artists or other albums, if the queried artist name have accented letters (i.e. Babasónicos). It works fine when querying MM db though.

Excellent add-on by the way, congrats Trix!

chx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:09 pm

solved!

Post by chx » Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:14 am

I think I've solved the problem, adding this function to Functions.vbs:

Code: Select all

Function ReplaceForbChars(texto)

    texto = Replace(texto,"À", "A")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Á", "A")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Â", "A")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ã", "A")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ä", "A")
    texto = Replace(texto,"â", "a")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ã", "a")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ä", "a")
    texto = Replace(texto,"à", "a")
    texto = Replace(texto,"á", "a")
    texto = Replace(texto,"È", "E'")
    texto = Replace(texto,"É", "E'")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ê", "E")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ë", "E")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ê", "e")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ë", "e")
    texto = Replace(texto,"è", "e")
    texto = Replace(texto,"é", "e")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ì", "I")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Í", "I")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Î", "I")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ï", "I")
    texto = Replace(texto,"î", "i")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ï", "i")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ì", "i")
    texto = Replace(texto,"í", "i")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ò", "O")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ó", "O")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ô", "O")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Õ", "O")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ö", "O")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ô", "o")
    texto = Replace(texto,"õ", "o")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ö", "o")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ò", "o")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ó", "o")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ù", "U")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ú", "U")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Û", "U")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ü", "U")
    texto = Replace(texto,"û", "u")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ü", "u")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ù", "u")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ú", "u")
    texto = Replace(texto,"Ý", "Y")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ý", "y")
    texto = Replace(texto,"ñ", "n")

    ReplaceForbChars = texto

End Function
Then I call that function before composing the audioscrobbler url (subroutine UpdateExternal, lines 1041, 1053 and 1065), replacing from the string cursong.ArtistName all accented characters with non-accented ones.

It works. Cheers!

GenPirate
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:32 am
Location: NJ, USA

Post by GenPirate » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:05 pm

Great script, just one question. Is it possible to set it to not register plays unless the song has been playing for a certain number of seconds? Because I tend to scroll through songs and it is registering them all as plays and I did not listen to the song for more then 2 seconds. Or does it already do that and is my mind just playing tricks on me?
Image

Lifetime Supporter of MM.

Rumbelstilzchen
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Rumbelstilzchen » Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:48 pm

@GenPirate those numbers are not calculated by the script, they are read out of the DB. Thus this is all done by MM directly.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:44 pm

@chx - I spent ages getting all these characters properly encoded so that Last.Fm would accept them. Looks like they've changed their minds!! :-?

@GenPirate - yes, Rumbelstilzchen is correct, this script only reads MM's database. It has no affect over when MM registers plays.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

chx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:09 pm

Post by chx » Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:34 pm

trixmoto wrote:@chx - I spent ages getting all these characters properly encoded so that Last.Fm would accept them. Looks like they've changed their minds!! :-?
Yes, trix, your totally right. That's why I think it's better to transform accented and other foreign characters to the basic alphabet just to avoid future problems, instead of trying to encode to the format accepted by Last.fm

I used the same solution for another really good script (Last.FM DJ) that gave me the same problem, now both are working fine with foreign names.

Thanks again for this awesome script! (and all the other that you've been developing)

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex » Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:20 am

transform accented and other foreign characters to the basic alphabet
That would be the Greek one then... :wink:

I always react when people write "foreign characters".
Foreign to who?
Writing in English doesn't mean that we all come from a English speaking country thus making these "foreign characters" not foreign at all.

Non-English characters should be the proper term to use.

Perhaps not a big thing but I find it slightly disrespectful to sue use "foreign characters" even though I understand that it isn't intended.
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:01 am

I tend to call them "foreign" as they are foreign to me (me being English) but I always put it in quotes cos, like you say, it's all relative! :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

chx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:09 pm

Post by chx » Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:21 am

Bex wrote:
transform accented and other foreign characters to the basic alphabet
That would be the Greek one then... :wink:

I always react when people write "foreign characters".
Foreign to who?
Writing in English doesn't mean that we all come from a English speaking country thus making these "foreign characters" not foreign at all.

Non-English characters should be the proper term to use.

Perhaps not a big thing but I find it slightly disrespectful to sue use "foreign characters" even though I understand that it isn't intended.
Sorry my friend, didn't mean any disrespect (I live myself in a "foreign" country... :P )

But as we are all writting in english here, I think we can say basic and extended charset meaning basic english charset and extended non-english characters.

Cheers!

Locked