Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Mars74
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:29 am
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by Mars74 »

Hi all,

The link doesn't work anymore. Is it possible somebody gives another one ?
Brilliant script by the way.

Thanks
uwuerfel
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by uwuerfel »

Mars74 wrote:The link doesn't work anymore.
I updated the link.
(Thanks for informing me)


CIAo, uwe..
Autor of Radio-DJ
dragulaas
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:45 pm
Contact:

Link not working

Post by dragulaas »

Kindly update it.
dragulaas
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by dragulaas »

Can somebody be kind enough to re-upload the installer n provide the download link. i badly need dis script...thx
uwuerfel
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by uwuerfel »

hm, looks like for some reason the link didn't work.
I updated it again. Hopefully it will work now.

CIAo, uwe..
Autor of Radio-DJ
dragulaas
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by dragulaas »

thx the links working now....m downloading it n its rocking..... :D
ollifant
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by ollifant »

Hi Uwe,

i've got an idea how to deal with the problem of the same song being played two times in quick succession. But i guess it could be a bit complicated:

How about adding the option of not playing songs of the same artist for "x" songs?
That would solve the problem and would be a nice feature at the same time 8)

Do you have any idea how to implement this in your script?

Cheers,
Olli
uwuerfel
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by uwuerfel »

Hi Olli,
ollifant wrote: [...]the problem of the same song being played two times in quick succession[...]

How about adding the option of not playing songs of the same artist for "x" songs?
You can configure the input playlist (more or less) in that way.
For auto playlists you can set a criteria like "last played" > 5 hours.
That way a song won't be used by Radio-DJ.

But I doubt that it would resolve the problem.
Since this behavior seems to be related to the number of songs that is generated in advance.
As long as the song has not been played it has a high possibility to get selected again by Radio-DJ.
Even the criteria "last played" or you suggestion "don't play the same artist again" would not change this,
since both only work when the song already *has been* played.

I'm thinking about how to fix this, but I haven't had any usable idea yet...

There are just a few workarounds to make this problem smaller:
- Set Favor factor not higher than 1
- in Option / Player / Auto-DJ set "Automatically maintain at least x upcoming tracks in now playing" to only 1 or 2 (or none)
Using those two settings reduce the probability of playing the same song in a short time.


CIAo, uwe..
Autor of Radio-DJ
ollifant
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by ollifant »

Hi Uwe,

is there a possibility for the script to "remember" the queued songs?

OK, you will loose the flexibility of deleting songs from the queue, which will be played later anyway. A Song deleted from the queue will not be played for a long time, even if it wasn't really played. But the problem will be solved.

Anyway, your script is great! I love it!
Olli
uwuerfel
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by uwuerfel »

Hi Olli,
ollifant wrote:is there a possibility for the script to "remember" the queued songs?
No, I don't think so.

An easy to implement solution would have a very bad performance,
and a solution with a god performance would require to rewrite major parts of the script.
This is because a very early design decision was to rely on playlists for the input.
I still think that's the best way. There are more advantages than disadvantages using playlists.

CIAo, uwe..
Autor of Radio-DJ
jomtones
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by jomtones »

Weird, this script just crashes my MM ... using 3.1.2.1281

Just tried uninstall (delete .vbs + .ini) and reinstall ... now says:

"Radio-DJ:
Error occured in GenerateNewTrack.
Playlist 'RadioDJ_Input' is empty or doesn't exist."
uwuerfel
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by uwuerfel »

jomtones wrote:"Radio-DJ:
Error occured in GenerateNewTrack.
Playlist 'RadioDJ_Input' is empty or doesn't exist."
Well it means exactly what it says:

The input playlist you have configured in the options pane of Radio-DJ is empty or doesn't exist.
And it also tells you the name of that playlist. It's 'RadioDJ_Input'.

So please have a look if you either have a typo in the name or maybe it's empty.

As soon as the playlist exists and has songs in it, Radio-DJ will work.


CIAo, uwe..
Autor of Radio-DJ
jomtones
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by jomtones »

Thanks .. ok I set in on 'accessible tracks' and now if I click on the node or try to use it as auto-DJ option the processor maxes out for ages ... seems to eventually work. - is this normal? should I limit it to a smaller playlist or something ?
ollifant
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:28 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by ollifant »

Hi,

does your MM freeze for a few seconds?
Then your playlist is obviously very large. I also had this problem.
Now i have a Auto-Playlist, which contains only rated songs. That fixed the problem.

Cheers,
Olli
jomtones
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Script: Radio-DJ [MM3]

Post by jomtones »

ah good idea thanks, I'll try that!
Post Reply