I need a gap! ~ How do I pause *after* a song?

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:49 pm

I spoke too soon. I am still having the same problem. I tried switching to the second output plugin (waveOut) and playing with the buffer settings, but that only made the problem worse.
Maybe I'll try turning off the script and keeping "remove silence" off.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:34 pm

go to the windows media player, set the buffer on that players direct sound plugin. monkey uses their own direct sound plugin but i think the buffers when set on the main windows direct sound plugin by wmp will also still work with the mm program its just you can't adjust them from in monkey, they made their own because of too many errors going on with the windows one. although not for certian they will work i seem to have had luck with adjusting that way.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Nostradamus

Re: I need a gap! ~ How do I pause *after* a song?

Post by Nostradamus » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:02 am

Thanks guys! The lack of a gap between songs was driving me nuts! Only started when I upgraded to MM3.

Soren Werk
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:24 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: I need a gap! ~ How do I pause *after* a song?

Post by Soren Werk » Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:56 am

Soo...

Maybe one day the gap between songs will be a configurable number of seconds from -30 to +30. The negative numbers are of course cross-over - with or without fade.
Last edited by Soren Werk on Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: I need a gap! ~ How do I pause *after* a song?

Post by rovingcowboy » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:04 pm

for some reason the last updates maybe from microsoft i can't find a way to get to the old ds plugin unless you have the old mm 2 installed in your system as well as mm 3. mm 2 uses the old one you can adjust the buffers in that one and it should being the same plugin also adjust them for mm 3.

but as for the numbers being adjustable for longer gaps that is also done by the configure button for the ds plugin that is used in mm 3, go to the control panel and click on output plugins and select the ds, then click the config button.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

agea
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:49 am

Re: I need a gap! ~ How do I pause *after* a song?

Post by agea » Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:38 pm

Thanks for the work on this script.
In 2009 new events have been added called "OnTrackEnd" and "OnPlaybackEnd".

from http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... OnTrackEnd :
" Sub OnTrackEnd
Event description: This event is called when track playback is finished because the end of track is reached. Introduced in MediaMonkey 3.1.0.1218. "

from http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... laybackEnd
" Sub OnPlaybackEnd
Event description: This event is called when track playback is finished regardless of reason, i.e. either end of track is reached, user presses Stop, Next or Previous button, or there's any other reason for stopping playback. Introduced in MediaMonkey 3.1.0.1223. "

See http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view. ... 106&nbn=21

Unfortunately I have not any knowledge about writing scripts but I would think these event could solve the problem that sometimes a fraction of the next song is played before the pause starts.

onnotabak

Re: I need a gap! ~ How do I pause *after* a song?

Post by onnotabak » Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:29 pm

With the new Sub OnTrackEnd possibility this is my enhancement of the original script.

Basically at the start of the song the StopAfterCurrent is triggered.
With the OnTrackEnd the timer is triggered after which the next song is started and everything starts over.
This also prevents that a portion of the next song is played.

I also made sure that at the end of the playing list it all stops.
Also included is that during the gap you can start another song which disables the timer.

Please note that you need at least MediaMonkey 3.1.0.1218.

Code: Select all

'======================================================================
' MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\Gap.vbs
'
' Creates a gap between each song.
' Can be turned on and off with a button on the toolbar.
'
' 2008-02-02 - Soren Werk - www.tangoman.dk
' 2010-04-03 - Onno Tabak
'
' ToDo:
'   Defaults configurable in Options.
'======================================================================

Option Explicit

Const GapSeconds = 5
Const GapDefaultOn = True

Dim GapButton
Dim GapProgress
Dim GapTimer

Sub OnStartUp()
  InitButton
  InitPlayer
  InitTimer
End Sub

Sub InitButton()
  Set GapButton = SDB.UI.AddMenuItem(SDB.UI.Menu_TBStandard,0,0)
  GapButton.IconIndex = 2
  GapButton.Caption = "Turn " & GapSeconds & " seconds gap on and off"
  Script.RegisterEvent GapButton, "OnClick", "GapButtonOnClick"
  If GapDefaultOn Then
    GapButtonOnClick(GapButton)
  End If
End Sub

Sub InitPlayer()
  Script.RegisterEvent SDB, "OnPlay", "PlayerOnPlay"
  Script.RegisterEvent SDB, "OnTrackEnd", "AfterGap"
End Sub

Sub InitTimer()
  Set GapTimer = SDB.CreateTimer(1000)
  GapTimer.Enabled = False
  Script.RegisterEvent GapTimer, "OnTimer", "GapOnTimer"
End Sub

'======================================================================

Sub GapButtonOnClick(Button)
  Button.Checked = not Button.Checked
End Sub

Sub PlayerOnPlay()
  If GapButton.Checked Then
    SDB.Player.StopAfterCurrent = True
  End If
  If  GapTimer.Enabled = True Then  
    GapTimer.Enabled = False
    Set GapProgress = Nothing
  End If
End Sub

Sub AfterGap()
  If GapButton.Checked and SDB.Player.CurrentSongIndex+1 < SDB.Player.PlayListCount Then
    Set GapProgress = SDB.Progress
    GapProgress.MaxValue = GapSeconds
    GapProgress.Text="Gap " & GapSeconds & " seconds."
    GapTimer.Enabled = True
  Else
    GapTimer.Enabled = False
    Set GapProgress = Nothing
  End If
End Sub

Sub GapOnTimer(Timer)
  If GapTimer.Enabled = True Then
    GapProgress.Increase
    GapProgress.Text="Gap " & GapSeconds - GapProgress.Value & " seconds."
  End If
  If GapProgress.Value >= GapProgress.MaxValue Then
    SDB.Player.Next
    SDB.Player.Play  
    GapTimer.Enabled = False
    Set GapProgress = Nothing
  End If
End Sub

Post Reply