Page 7 of 26

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 1:25 am
by drjboulder
DAC wrote:Not sure why I can't find this in the scripts area. I see it in the options area so I know it's installed. Any ideas?
Image

ps: das, are you the same I know from DVDTalk?
Are you running Vista?
If so, then open the Monkey by right clicking its' .exe and choosing "Run as Admin", then install the script. Might be the prob. :-?

@Das update sounds good, glad you are still working on the script. It is already very useful. Will give the update a go in a bit.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 5:20 am
by das Monkey
spacefish wrote:I just got the following error:

Image

I was trying to tag the currently playing album. If it helps at all, the album was Rhythm and Stealth by Leftfield. I have been able to use the new version successfully on other albums though so I'm not sure what the problem with this one is.
Was this a one-time thing or does it happen every time you try to tag this album? While I wouldn't recommend trying to tag while playing, I'm not sure that's an issue here or not. Line 285 is where I write the temporary HTML file, and I don't have any error handling there, assuming the file can be created without any problem. It's possible that some kind of a write lock on that file would trigger the error you received, perhaps if Lyricator were improperly shut down.

Is it still a problem?

das

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:02 am
by spacefish
It happens intermittently but often enough; I've encountered it several times since I installed the new version. Also, it isn't only happening on currently playing tracks. It can happen at anytime it seems. When I get the error, the Lyricator window doesn't populate. Perhaps it's related to trying to create the window? It always happens on the same albums even after restarting MM.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:34 am
by DAC
drjboulder wrote: Are you running Vista?
If so, then open the Monkey by right clicking its' .exe and choosing "Run as Admin", then install the script. Might be the prob. :-?

@Das update sounds good, glad you are still working on the script. It is already very useful. Will give the update a go in a bit.
I am and that worked. Thanks.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:46 am
by DAC
Ok, the only issue I now have (and it's a Vista issue not a lyricator issue) is that in order for this to work I need to go to the MM folder and right click and run as administrator in order for this to work. If I start it by dbl clicking the desktop icon this script doesn't show up. Any suggestions, drjboulder, on how to get this to show up all the time? I guess maybe it won't matter once I run the script and get the lyrics updated.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:51 am
by nynaevelan
DAC:

It is my understanding that you need to run MM as an administrator, then install the script while running as administrator. From then on you should be able to run MM as normal and not run into the problem you are having.

Nyn

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:45 am
by spacefish
Nyn is correct (I've done this many times). Right-click your MM icon and Run As Administrator then install the script. The next time you run MM from your standard user account, the script should be there and run properly.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:53 am
by DAC
I'll give that a try. I thought I did that but might not have.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 12:36 pm
by DAC
Ok, so I unistalled it. Ran MM as administrator, reinstalled lyicator and the same results. It only shows up if I run as administrator. That's ok, since I will only need to run this occasionally.

Thanks for the assistance.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 1:35 pm
by nynaevelan
When you say you ran it as an administrator, you do not mean using an administrator account, right, you actually right-clicked the exe file and selected run as administrator?

One more thing to try before you give up. Go to the Control Panel, turn off UAC, then run as administrator and reinstall Lyricator. Then restart MM as normal to see if it works for you. Once you finish the installation you can turn UAC back on.

Nyn

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:25 pm
by spacefish
Hmm... I wonder if you need to enable ActiveX for your standard user account. I'll have to go see if I can find the directions again for how to do that.

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:23 pm
by DAC
Yes I right clicked to run as an administrator. I also turned off the UAC as it would not allow me to install with that on.

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:45 pm
by aidan_cage
Yo this is sweeeeeet!

I wish there was a key combo to press while I had tracks selected, so I could just launch it, or a way to change the "Search lyrics using Google" link in the Lyrics and Comments Viewer panel to a link that would launch Lyricator for the playing song.

PEACE

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:16 pm
by Vyper
aidan_cage wrote:I wish there was a key combo to press while I had tracks selected, so I could just launch it ...
Tools -> Options -> Hotkeys


I assigned Alt-L to launch the script since Ctrl-L tags it normally.


:D

Alt+L

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:54 am
by aidan_cage
oh YEAH!
Thanks for that!
I'm rocking a whole new frame of mind.