MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by MediaMan »

MediaMan wrote: once I select the option to covert above 160 , to 128, the total requirement drops from to 17 gb, so looks like I can fit the whole library on the iPad .
Morning after ... All good

The only observation is the space reqts. Per above, I had 150 GB of media which it estimated would require 17 GB. When I checked the ipad, it had seemed to take up about 28GB ... I checked the size of the cache folder and indeed it was 28GB. So the estimated file size was a bit off. No big deal.

One other thing .... currently when MM4 starts, it is giving me the error warning that my ipad is not available for syncing. II beelive I can desect the plugin for the ipad ( as I no longer need to sync to it directly) via Tools /Options/ Portable Devices .. correct?.
Last edited by MediaMan on Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438
MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by MediaMan »

markstuartwalker wrote:
MediaMan wrote:Once you get over the distasteful thought that iTunes is still hanging around it does have quite a few nice side-effects. Have you used the iTunes Remote app yet? http://www.apple.com/itunes/remote/
Yup, very cool for remore control of iTunes running on computer conencted to a home theather sound system. Another option of course is Monkey Tunes : http://melloware.com/products/monkeytunes/ to remotely control MediaMonkey for the samw setup (computer conencted to a home theather sound system). I had tried MonkeyTunes in past, on my iTouch,,, but now I see they note "Now the new Apple Remote 2.0 for the iPad is supported by Monkeytunes! " So I will need to check that out !

And another nice plug-in side effect , of having my media library mirroored in ITunes, is that now I can see my entire library via Apple TV !! Yay!
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438
Glenn Wagner
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 5:19 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by Glenn Wagner »

Where can I find a guide for how I need to configure both the plugin [u]and[/u] itunes to get this working.

I have specifically installed iTunes only for the purpose of getting this plugin working but am having no luck. I have tried working through this thread but 64 pages of it makes it impractical I just need a specific location to look for the instructions.

This seems to be the "official" solution to using IOS5 (i.e. MM still advertising support for iphones despite incompatibility with IOS5. Which in my view means the product does not function as advertised.

I need a comprehensive guide, as when I use defaults, nothing happens in itunes...no playlist no nothing....and I still can't sync.
vb1953
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by vb1953 »

More good feedback.

With the native sync that used to work on MM3, there was a common irritating but not killer issue with the sync mixing art for files when you brought them up on the synced device (ipod touch 3rd gen, in my case)

the plugin seems to have done away with this irritation.

Great stuff, easy to install and use even for me..

Thanks Mark.

John
MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by MediaMan »

Glenn Wagner wrote:Where can I find a guide for how I need to configure both the plugin and itunes to get this working. .... as when I use defaults, nothing happens in itunes...no playlist no nothing....and I still can't sync.
You are defintely in the right forum, you will be able to get the help you need and get this working .. .. and this plug-in is defintiely worth the effort. Best place to start is tell us what you have for context :
  • MM Version ?? ; Eg Version 4.02.1462 ?
    Operating System ?? : Eg : Windows Win 7 64-bit Home Premium SP1
    IOS Device?? : Eg Apple iPad 2
    IOS OS Version ??: Eg :IOS 5.0.1
    iTunes Version??" Eg iTunes 10.5.3
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438
ssawyer
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:28 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by ssawyer »

Glenn Wagner wrote:Where can I find a guide for how I need to configure both the plugin and itunes to get this working.
Am I correct in assuming you have read the plugin manual?
MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by MediaMan »

Glenn,

The manual is included with the plugin, but I posted a ready reference copy here: http://www.box.com/s/ze72mgxm16axfpymrapa
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438
freddyt

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by freddyt »

ssawyer wrote:
MediaMan wrote:Can anyone confirm if this really works? Native iTunes won't even import FLAC..... So I'm unclear how the plugin would allow it to recognize FLAC files ... But perhaps it does.
No, no...

You're right that iTunes doesn't recognize FLAC files. When MM syncs with iTunes it converts your FLAC files to whatever format you've told MM to convert incompatible files to. This is exactly what MM does with an iOS 4 phone or iPod, but it does it in the process of syncing directly with the device. With iOS5, we have to sync from MM to iTunes - and converting incompatible file formats in the process. THEN you sync from iTunes to your device. Thus iTunes never has to deal with any incompatible file formats. They've already been converted before they ever hit iTunes' music library.

It's a two-step process, but I understand that you can have iTunes automatically sync with your device as soon as the sync between MM and iTunes is complete.

Does this make sense?
For clarification, I understand that you should be able to move FLAC tracks from MM to iTunes using the iTunes plugin but when I try it, the tracks seem to convert, but they don't actually show up in iTunes. MP3 tracks seem to work fine using the iTunes plugin - so I'm perplexed about what happens to the tracks that originated as FLAC in MM.

Thanks for all the work and info on this useful utility.
ssawyer
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:28 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by ssawyer »

freddyt wrote:the tracks seem to convert, but they don't actually show up in iTunes. MP3 tracks seem to work fine using the iTunes plugin - so I'm perplexed about what happens to the tracks that originated as FLAC in MM.
What format are you converting them to? Am I correct in assuming that you're converting them to an Apple-compatible format like MP3 or M4A?
freddyt

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by freddyt »

ssawyer wrote:
freddyt wrote:the tracks seem to convert, but they don't actually show up in iTunes. MP3 tracks seem to work fine using the iTunes plugin - so I'm perplexed about what happens to the tracks that originated as FLAC in MM.
What format are you converting them to? Am I correct in assuming that you're converting them to an Apple-compatible format like MP3 or M4A?
I'm not sure - I'm simply dragging an album from my MM library into the iTunes icon created by the iTunes plugin. If the album was an mp3(320 bits) format in MM, its tracks show up fine in iTunes. If the album was in FLAC format in MM, a conversion seems to take place but when it finishes there are no tracks in the iTunes library. When I verify in the 'real' iTunes I do see the mp3 files but not the FLAC ones. I confess, if there is a way to specify what to convert to (FLAC >> ???) using the iTunes plugin, I don't know how to do that.
-Thanks!
ssawyer
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:28 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by ssawyer »

freddyt wrote:if there is a way to specify what to convert to (FLAC >> ???) using the iTunes plugin, I don't know how to do that.
-Thanks!
There is - I'm not at my home computer right now so I can't be more specific, but there is a conversion page on the configuration dialog that allows you to specify how MM handles conversion of each file based on bitrate and file format.
MediaMan
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by MediaMan »

ssawyer wrote:
freddyt wrote:if there is a way to specify what to convert to (FLAC >> ???) using the iTunes plugin, I don't know how to do that.
-Thanks!
There is - I'm not at my home computer right now so I can't be more specific, but there is a conversion page on the configuration dialog that allows you to specify how MM handles conversion of each file based on bitrate and file format.
My FLAC files convert to MP3.

See this screen. Check box for Any audio over 160 kbps...

Image
Windows 7,8 | iTunes 11.2.2.3 | IOS 7.1.2 | MM Gold 4.1.3.1708 | d_itunes4.dll Ver 4.0.4.2438
freddyt

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by freddyt »

MediaMan wrote:
ssawyer wrote:
freddyt wrote:if there is a way to specify what to convert to (FLAC >> ???) using the iTunes plugin, I don't know how to do that.
-Thanks!
There is - I'm not at my home computer right now so I can't be more specific, but there is a conversion page on the configuration dialog that allows you to specify how MM handles conversion of each file based on bitrate and file format.
My FLAC files convert to MP3.

See this screen. Check box for Any audio over 160 kbps...
That did it - thanks much!
unnicorn
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:21 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by unnicorn »

Hi, I just upgraded to MM4 and I wanted to enquire about a certain prompt that comes up when I now try to sync tracks between MM4 and iTunes 10.5

Initially I tested the plugin by just syncing a playlist with one song and it worked fine(playcounts updated properly). Then I tried it on the entire music collection and it pops up a confirmation box stating "1000/5000 tracks are to be deleted.Continue to delete?". On the MM task bar it states "Synchronizing d_itunes4.dll on <machine name>: (Removing old content)". I opt for the 'No" option but then theres no change in the MM status bar and I am eventually forced to to restart MM using Windows Vista :oops: task manager.

Has anyone else had this issue and do you know what causes it ....

I was a previous user of this plugin in MM3. I dont cache the songs due to lack of disc space :roll: . I didn't clear any of the songs previously imported into iTunes either. Please suggest.

Also wanted to know what this option means "Maximum percent deleted tracks" which was by default set to 5 in the device configuration setting.
Scripts I use: Advanced Report
markstuartwalker
Posts: 931
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:10 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey iTunes plugin (d_itunes4.dll)

Post by markstuartwalker »

The "Maximum percent deleted tracks" option controls the threshold for this prompt, yes. It's intent it to help detect unplanned mass removal of iTunes tracks. I your case it indicates 1000 tracks will be removed from iTunes which seems wrong given that you've only tried a single track. (1000/5000 is 20%)

The plugin places an identifier in each of the tracks that it puts into iTunes which links back to the originating MM track. This allows it to recognise tracks that it has placed there as opposed to ones in iTunes through manual mechanisms. The field used is the "Series Number" in the video tab (very under used).

Do you have 1000 tracks in iTunes which have this field used?
Windows 7,8 / Ubuntu 13.10 / Mavericks 10.9 / iOS 7.1 / iTunes 11.1
iTunes plugin (d_itunes & itunes4) http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =2&t=45713
Running MM under Mac OS X with Wine http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =4&t=58507
Post Reply