Backup 6.0 - Updated 01/07/2014

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by trixmoto » Fri Nov 05, 2010 6:33 am

People have had some problems installing the script and running the Restore when needed, but these have all been caused by Windows, predominantly UAC related. As far as I'm aware there are no bugs with the script itself.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by nynaevelan » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:25 am

gpzbc wrote:
dandichka wrote:Just skimming over the last posts here. Seems like a lot of problems of late. Never installed this script before and I was wondering if I should try it or is it still buggy (running Vista)? Thanks.
You definitely should. It is one of my top 3 scripts to run in MM. You won't regret it. And we'll be there to help if you have any problems.
I agree, it is well worth it. This script has been a lifesaver more times than I can count. :D
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Transferring From a 32-bit Computer to a 64-bit Computer

Post by dypsis » Sat Nov 06, 2010 4:23 am

I am trying to move from a 32-bit computer to a 64-bit computer, but Backup is just not working for me.
I get a number of "error opening file" errors.

Do I need to edit Restore.vbs?

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Transferring From a 32-bit Computer to a 64-bit Computer

Post by gpzbc » Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:26 am

dypsis wrote:I am trying to move from a 32-bit computer to a 64-bit computer, but Backup is just not working for me.
I get a number of "error opening file" errors.

Do I need to edit Restore.vbs?
I can't say for sure whether or not it will work, but I know that I did a manual restore (rather than using restore.vbs) when I migrated from 32 bit to 64 bit. I think part of the problem is that some of MM's files are stored in C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\ on a 32 bit system, and in C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey\ on a 64 bit system.

I simply copied all of the files in my MM Backup folder to the appropriate destination manually. When I was all done with that, I then installed the registry info from the Mediamonkey.reg file. The only problem that I ran into was the need to register my XZip.dll on the new computer. You can find out how to do that if you go to this post. http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... bc#p258498

Good Luck! Let us know if you have any questions while manually restoring the files and folders.
--
The gpzbc

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by nynaevelan » Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:14 am

I completed the same steps although I did not need to register the xzip.dll file, not sure why. I always complete the restore manually, I had trouble with the restore.vbs in the past and I've gotten in the habit of just running the process manually. But I have not had any problems running backup in my 64 bit system.
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by dypsis » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:57 pm

Thanks guys.
I am having some trouble dragging the panels where I want them for some strange reason.
They won't move.

The "Now Playing" and "Lyrics Viewer" panels are stuck on the right side of the player and won't drag.

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by dypsis » Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:57 pm

I had all my track history working fine, but once I imported MediaMonkey.reg, I lost it all.
Is there any way to get my play count/history back?

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by gpzbc » Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:38 pm

You could just start the manual restore process over (assuming you saved a copy of it). This time you should do the full restore before messing with MM. That is, manually copy all folders to their original location, then double click the .reg file. Then open MM and it should all be exactly the same as when you made that backup.
--
The gpzbc

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by dypsis » Sun Nov 07, 2010 1:46 am

gpzbc wrote:You could just start the manual restore process over (assuming you saved a copy of it). This time you should do the full restore before messing with MM. That is, manually copy all folders to their original location, then double click the .reg file. Then open MM and it should all be exactly the same as when you made that backup.
Thanks mate, I think it's working now.
I will check it out more later.

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by dypsis » Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:18 am

No, all my history is gone again.

I give up.

Once you close MM, and re-open I get zero play counts.
MonkeyRok remembers, but has double entries, but MediaMonkey remembers nothing.

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:58 am

dypsis wrote:I had all my track history working fine, but once I imported MediaMonkey.reg, I lost it all.
Is there any way to get my play count/history back?
Are you sure the library is being restored? Are any tracks showing up in the dead links node?? Did you move any of the files since the backup. If no the the questions, you could use Zvezdand's Restore Playhistory script to restore you playhistory and playlists from the backup. If yes to any of the questions your database is not being restored correctly.
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by nynaevelan » Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:01 am

Oh one other thing, what directory is MM installed in? On my 64 bit it wanted to install it into the ...\Program Files (x86)\ directory, but that caused several problems with some of my scripts. So I uninstalled it and installed it into the ..\Program Files\ folder and all was well.
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by dypsis » Sun Nov 07, 2010 3:30 pm

The tracks won't play from the library.
If I open one by going File > Open, it plays.

Isn't there some way to fix it? Rescan or something?

dypsis
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by dypsis » Sun Nov 07, 2010 3:32 pm

I think I have found the problem.

The file path in a file that I checked has this as the drive letter: ?:\

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Post by gpzbc » Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:25 pm

dypsis wrote:I think I have found the problem.

The file path in a file that I checked has this as the drive letter: ?:\
I might be wrong, but it sounds like you need to inform MM of the new hard drive ID #. The way to do this is to:
-- Make sure the "Move Device Content" script is installed. http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8975
-- Follow these instructions. http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... w_computer

Let me know if that helps.

EDIT: Make sure you disable the File Monitor first and then using a backup of the database go through the DriveID steps. After that you can enable the File Monitor again
Last edited by gpzbc on Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
--
The gpzbc

Post Reply