Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

MarkCoyle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:47 am

Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by MarkCoyle »

I am finding that even with 'Remove Unavailable Items' ticked, that on a library scan - they are not removed.

In MM4 if I go to a directory, all the files within the sub-directories with music were shown before. That was very helpful but is not the case in MM5. When editing bulk tags - for example in adding the cover image to multiple rips of an album (master and backups), this is especially useful.

Also in MM4, it seemed to find the root music folder on the C:/ and provide a quick link to it - this is less intuitive in MM5 but not a bug. I can pin the directory but did not need to do so before.
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by Lowlander »

1) Describe the unavailable items?

2) Use the folder with a + icon at the top left of the FiIe Listing to show folder content recursively.

3) I'm not sure what is different in MM4. You still have Collection > Location or Folders (My Computer in MMW) nodes available to get to the C drive.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
MarkCoyle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:47 am

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by MarkCoyle »

I am saying that if I do a library rescan after removing some albums, regardless of whether I toggle to remove unavailable items or not - they remain in the library aftr the scan.

I will check on the other two points.
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by Lowlander »

1) Tested and it worked. Are you sure that the removed files are included in the scanned folders? Only if the missing files are in scanned folders will this happen: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... cans_Files

Note that you should be able to find the files in the Collection > Files to Edit > Dead Links node if you want to remove them: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... Dead_Links
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
MarkCoyle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:47 am

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by MarkCoyle »

The issue seems to be that MM5 was installed to a Portable folder, now I have installed fully - my main point is now working properly. Thanks.
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by Lowlander »

I tested it on a Portable Install.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Deadcool
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by Deadcool »

I am having the same problem. Mine is NOT a portable install. Running 5.0.0.2338. Here is what happened:

1) Noticed that a CD ripped with MM5 using the Autonumber tag caused all files to be prepended with "000" instead of incrementing (001, 002, etc).

2) Used Bulk Rename Utility to remove the 000 from the beginning of filename (including the following space, so instead of "000 File1" it was now simply "File1"

3) Selected the directory for re-scan in MM5. Now MM5 shows both the old "000 File, 000 File2, etc" files and the files without the preceding 000.

4) Only have completely exiting MM5, then re-opening it and allowing the scan that occurs upon launch, were the duplicates removed. Manual scanning in above steps did not remove duplicates.
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2

Post by Lowlander »

1) What Mask are you using for CD Rip Destination?

3) I can't reproduce on build 2410, MediaMonkey lists the old copies after rescan completes (make sure that the option to remove unavailable items is enabled under Tools > Options > Library) from which you can have them removed. Does F5 (refresh) fix the Filelisting and remove the removed files from view: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=17974
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Deadcool
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Deadcool »

Found another instance of a scan causing duplicates to appear, but this time re-scanning and closing / re-opening MM5 doesn't make them go away.

Steps:

1) Use Bulk Rename Utility to rename the mp3 files in the directory (switching from Songname - Artist to Artist - Songname)

2) Re-scan artist folder under Location > D > Music > (Artist Name)

3) There are now two of each song.
Deadcool
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Deadcool »

A minute or so after posting, I close MM5 and re-opened it (again) and now the duplicates are gone.

Seriously inconsistent DB behavior so far.
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Lowlander »

Deadcool wrote: Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:52 am 1) Use Bulk Rename Utility to rename the mp3 files in the directory (switching from Songname - Artist to Artist - Songname)

2) Re-scan artist folder under Location > D > Music > (Artist Name)

3) There are now two of each song.
4) Refresh (F5)

Are the files still there and are you on build 2416?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Deadcool
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Deadcool »

Refresh didn't help, it wasn't until sometime later that they were removed.

When I use Help > Check for Update I'm told that 5.0.0.2338 is the current version...?
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Lowlander »

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Deadcool
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Deadcool »

The autonumber issue when ripping a CD still exists in build 2418 --

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1aNPnlF ... sp=sharing
Lowlander
Posts: 50266
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Library Scan in MM5 RC2 [#17974]

Post by Lowlander »

You're not showing the Mask you're using for Ripping CD's in the screenshot you shared.

I tested with <Auto Number:4> on build 2418 and it created the correct numbers in the filenames.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply