Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

feline1
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:36 am

Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by feline1 »

Hello,
one thing I noticed about MMW5 is that it is just a 32bit application? (At least, the one I have installed is only 32 bit)
Is there 64 bit build available too? (Surely the large majority of Windows OS's are 64 bits these days? Would it not improve performance when dealing with music libraries of terabyte size to have a native 64bit application? Or would it make no difference...?)
dtsig
Posts: 3472
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by dtsig »

No ... no 64 bit and none planned
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
Not_tech_savy
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2021 5:32 pm

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by Not_tech_savy »

feline1 wrote: Sun Oct 24, 2021 8:59 am Hello,
one thing I noticed about MMW5 is that it is just a 32bit application? (At least, the one I have installed is only 32 bit)
Is there 64 bit build available too? (Surely the large majority of Windows OS's are 64 bits these days? Would it not improve performance when dealing with music libraries of terabyte size to have a native 64bit application? Or would it make no difference...?)
There's another post about this somewhere and one of the mods said something about them trying it out and it seemed to perform worse than 32bit version
MMW 5.0.2.2516 beta Gold on WIN 11-64Bit Home 21H2
MMA 1.4.4.0960 beta Pro on S21 Ultra 5g Android 11
- Please note, just a common user trying to figure how all of MM works
-call me Joe
feline1
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:36 am

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by feline1 »

sounds like they need a better compiler ;)
Ludek
Posts: 4330
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by Ludek »

Actually we already have 64-bit compiler and compiled MM5 as 64-bit app. The problem is that it breaks compatibility with older 32-bits plugins and futher MM 32-bit dependent components, so it is not usable atm, but definetely planned for the future versions.
feline1
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:36 am

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by feline1 »

Well I don't use any plugins though ;)
Can't you just make that the problem of the plugin developers? That's the way these things are usually done! :lol:
drakinite
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by drakinite »

I'm pretty sure that these plugins that Ludek is referring to are ancient WinAmp plugins, whose development have long since ended. But since the development of MM5 has been emphasizing cross platform compatibility for a while, and the plan is to bring it to Mac OS (+ hopefully Linux), I'm not sure what we're gonna do with those plugins. We'll see in due time!

What I can say for certain is that we'll want the 32 bit version to be more mature before increasing the number of builds that see released. After all, releasing both a 32 and 64 bit version will double the amount of QA testing that has to be done. Can't say when that'll start, though.
Image
Student electrical-computer engineer, web programmer, part-time MediaMonkey developer, full-time MediaMonkey enthusiast
feline1
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:36 am

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by feline1 »

Just focus on the 64 bit build and treat the 32 bit one as a 'legacy' build which gets far less testing :lol:
Peke
Posts: 14908
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by Peke »

feline1 wrote: Thu Oct 28, 2021 3:50 pm Just focus on the 64 bit build and treat the 32 bit one as a 'legacy' build which gets far less testing :lol:
When it comes to that and MM gets out on x64 we can talk about it. x86 have its purpose.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
rlamb515@gmail.com
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:54 pm

Media Monkey 32 bit

Post by rlamb515@gmail.com »

I had Win 10 and now upgraded to Win 11. I notice Media Monkey is 32 bit. Isnt there a 64 bit version? How do I download that one if there is? I have the Gold 5 version currently. Could be why I have had issues with your software. Thank you
Lowlander
Posts: 51476
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by Lowlander »

There is only a 32 bit version and it should work just as well. What problem did you experience with MediaMonkey?
Rob_S
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 1:53 pm

Re: Is there a 64 bit build of MMW5?

Post by Rob_S »

Just as counterpoint to the above, why push for time wasted by Developers on a 64-bit version??

In my experience only programs which use gigabyte sized files benefit from 64bit, and most 64bit versions I have seen use much more ram, and do not perform any better (in my experience worse) than their 32 bit originals.

Even Windows 11 is perfectly capable of running 32-bit stuff very well.

So my vote is definitely concentrate on improving the existing 32bit versions. I can see no reason to rush for the other.
Post Reply