Two quick playcount bugs [#18523]

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Two quick playcount bugs [#18523]

Post by 1337haXXor »

In the last few versions, there have been a couple of bugs related to playcount. Tested in the newest version, as of posting this.

Songs less than about 60 seconds do not have their playcount recorded.

Highlighting a group of tracks and looking at the properties, the playcount section (which shows the combined playcounts of the selection) doubles the first track's plays. So if you highlight 10 tracks with 1 playcount each, the "total" plays is 11. Or a track with 100 plays and a track with 1 play, the total plays will be 201.
Lowlander
Posts: 51529
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by Lowlander »

Which Build (Help > About) are you using?
1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by 1337haXXor »

2513.

And it seems to be.. not fully consistent. Sometimes it does update the playcount. But not always.

I know a song needs a certain percentage of playtime for the playcount to update, and I could be wrong but I believe I recall seeing the "last played" tag update when there are about 60 seconds remaining in a song. So maybe it's something like that? I don't know.
1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by 1337haXXor »

Okay, I'm doing some testing.

Anything under 20 seconds is not updating at all. Currently, 20+ seconds are adding plays. I did just update earlier from a few versions older, so I'm not sure if that's affecting it. But the problem persists on < 20 second tracks.
1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by 1337haXXor »

It seems to depend on the track, to a point. I started playing through tracks 20 seconds and longer.
0:21 - playcount updated
0:22 - updated
0:23 - updated
0:23 - did not update
0:23 - no update
0:24 - no update
0:25 - updated.

So under 20 seconds, no plays seem to update, and between 20 and 60, it seems to vary. I have a 58 second track that won't update.

Library is meticulously organized, all files are FLAC and in their respective folders, and they all have multiple playcounts that were working before.
Lowlander
Posts: 51529
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by Lowlander »

What % setting do you have under Tools > Options > Playback Rules?
1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by 1337haXXor »

Oh, woah. I don't think I've ever seen this option. O.o

It's set at 90%.
Lowlander
Posts: 51529
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by Lowlander »

It's new in 5.0.2
Lowlander
Posts: 51529
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by Lowlander »

Can you try with the latest 5.0.2 beta, I'm unable to reproduce: viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86639&sd=d
1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by 1337haXXor »

Oh, new update yesterday. Installed.

issue still persisting, and on different tracks. Those same tracks from yesterday:

0:21 - no playcount update.
0:22 - playcount update.
0:23 - update.
0:23 - update.
0:23 - update.
0:24 - update.
0:25 - no update.

This is all in a smart playlist. I haven't extensively tested, but the ones I did, I tested in my main library (Music -> All Tracks) and the same tracks behaved as they did in the playlist, with reference to updating or not.

Playcount addition for multiple selection still persists as well, but that's very minor.
Lowlander
Posts: 51529
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Two quick playcount bugs

Post by Lowlander »

Play counter: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=18523

For the failure to update play count, please capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and attach it to a Support Ticket: viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86643

This will help a developer analyze why this happens in your setup.
1337haXXor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs [#18523]

Post by 1337haXXor »

Whoops, forgot about this.. D:

I see the multi-select playcount has been fixed.

Uploading the debug log now. Question, though, what is this:

00000082 2.04655552 [3452] LastError: Unspecified error
00000083 2.04694414 [3452] TCoolTrayIcon.NotifySystem: Mode = 1
00000084 2.04709911 [3452] TCoolTrayIcon.NotifySystem: Finished
00000085 2.04714370 [3452] LastError: Unspecified error
00000086 2.04721737 [3452] TCoolTrayIcon.NotifySystem: Mode = 1
00000087 2.04737830 [3452] TCoolTrayIcon.NotifySystem: Finished

When MM is at idle, it runs 2-3 times per second, constantly.
Lowlander
Posts: 51529
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Two quick playcount bugs [#18523]

Post by Lowlander »

You'd need to capture the playing of files to capture the failure to update the play count. Then attach the log to a Support Ticket.
Ludek
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Two quick playcount bugs [#18523]

Post by Ludek »

Please be sure that you are using latest debug version: https://www.mediamonkey.com/beta/MediaM ... _Debug.exe
as it resolves the playcount issues.

Once you confirm the bug is fixed you can install the regular build https://www.mediamonkey.com/beta/MediaM ... 2.2523.exe
for a better performance / start time.
Post Reply