Clearly indicate Disc# in "Selected" panel [#13975]

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

tarasis
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:29 am
Location: Buchholz, Germany
Contact:

Clearly indicate Disc# in "Selected" panel [#13975]

Post by tarasis » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:48 pm

MM5 Alpha 2058, Monkey Groove skin

At present when looking at a multi-disc album there is no way to see which disc the track belongs to. For instance, here Buck Rogers Season 1 is made up of 3 discs however all the tracks are shown together as one long list (yes with track number restarting at 1 when swapping discs, however it isn't clear that the discs are in order).

There should be a section break & disc number between each disc's tracks to indicate that its a new disc.

Image

Related, the disc of the currently selected track isn't shown in the "Selected" pane, even when defined in the tags.

Image

Ludek
Posts: 3379
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Clearly indicate Disc in multi-disc albums & "Selected"

Post by Ludek » Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:39 am

tarasis wrote:Related, the disc of the currently selected track isn't shown in the "Selected" pane, even when defined in the tags.
For me it is shown once the Disc# is not empty (like in MM4) :
https://www.dropbox.com/s/weoqgslvkyp01 ... 5.png?dl=0
Image

tarasis
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:29 am
Location: Buchholz, Germany
Contact:

Re: Clearly indicate Disc in multi-disc albums & "Selected"

Post by tarasis » Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:32 pm

T
Ludek wrote: For me it is shown once the Disc# is not empty (like in MM4) :
(EDIT) Okay, yup, my bad.

I see that the issue is I need to enable the Disc field in the "Selected" Panel but the "Choose Fields" dialog is buried under:

Right Click on the "Selected" Panel->Layout->Advanced->Cog

Where in MM4 its:

Right Click on the "Selected" panel->Choose Fields.

(Original Reply for posterity)

Strange :) I checked two multi-disc albums with MM5 and while the property is set, it isn't appearing in that pane. (Edited post to add alternative screenshots that fit the webpage, left links to originals)

Example One:

http://i.imgur.com/1Hqr9EA.png

Image

Example Two:

http://i.imgur.com/Yk2WB57.png

Image

Peke
Posts: 13263
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Clearly indicate Disc in multi-disc albums & "Selected"

Post by Peke » Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:07 pm

Under "..." you have layout where you can set custom fields to show.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Ludek
Posts: 3379
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Clearly indicate Disc in multi-disc albums & "Selected"

Post by Ludek » Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:07 am

Note also that the fields are configured per track type.
i.e. the File Type dropdown with [Music, Podcasts, Audiobooks, ...]
so are you sure you ckecked Disc# for the correct type?

MiPi
Posts: 645
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Clearly indicate Disc in multi-disc albums & "Selected"

Post by MiPi » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:09 am

Currently you can see album tracks divided by discs only in album view (opened when clicked on album title, when "Browser view" type of view is chosen). But it would be good to have them also in this popup, added as: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=13975

Peke
Posts: 13263
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Clearly indicate Disc# in "Selected" panel [#13975]

Post by Peke » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:56 pm

Fixed in builds 2066+
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply