2165: search filter UI

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

Barry4679
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

2165: search filter UI

Post by Barry4679 » Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:23 am

Ludek wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:51 am
I agree that the "Filter: off/on" is totally confusing as it should be rather "Advanced Search Filter: Off/On" as it in fact toggles between MM4 like advanced search (with criteria rows) and standard search bar searching
I don't think that the proposed change improves things much. It just changes something that was open to confusion, to something that says nothing about something important.

see this ... no trick ... two images from the same database
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ak8ysahvagc4j ... I.png?dl=0

The tool bar tells me that that they are the same view, both "unfiltered" ... but one returns 1059 tracks, and the other just 12 tracks??

The truth is that they are both filtered on "bob" ... but the lower one is also filtered to a specific collection, although your proposed UI hides this fact.

IMO the breadcrumb of the lower view should show that I am filtered to a specific collection (ie. not Home)
And they should both have Filter ON.

The "advanced" and the non-advanced are not additive are they? ... ie. it is an either|or situation.

If I type "bob" into the right hand search box, you create a filter with criteria of "any text fields contains bob" .... saying that this not an "advanced" filter, just adds perceived complexity, with no deliverable ... ie. I can change it to an "advanced" filter by adding "track # <= 3" ... why give these two different names? ... that just adds apparent complexity to something that was already complex enough IMO.

[UPDATE] I would propose two controls ... one to toggle the filter on|off, and another to toggle filter criteria display on|off ... and no distinction between simple and advanced filters.

Another question ... why does the menu bar show that my search string as "bo"? ... I searched on "bob"

Ludek
Posts: 3074
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Ludek » Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:48 am

I wonder how did you get to the inconsistent state?

If I search a particural collection then the breadcrumb (navigation bar) correctly indicates the collection being searched.

Tested this way:
1) Selected 'Audiobooks' collection in the tree
2) Typed 'rob'
=>
https://www.dropbox.com/s/svxp3237589kf ... 8.png?dl=0

As you can see on the screenshot the 'Audiobooks' are included on the navigation bar.
Which were your steps?

EDIT: I reproduced it this way:
https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=15513
It seems to be a recent regression, thanks for reporting. Will be fixed.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Re 'Filter on/off', I think that current wording is confusing because:
1) it is not clear that it is a toggle
2) it is not clear that it switches between MM4 like advanced search and standard search
i.e. MM4 users using Ctrl+F in MM4 (or menu Edit > Search in MM4) are not aware how to achive this kind of search
see: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... it#p455673
3) The word "filter" is ambiguous

Maybe changing 'Filter: on/off' to a button would clarify it.
e.g. show [Advanced] button and upon clicking it -- it would bring the search editor and the button caption would change to [Simple]
Suggested in https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view ... 371#c52791

Barry4679
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Barry4679 » Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:12 am

Ludek wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:48 am
I wonder how did you get to the inconsistent state?
[snip]
Which were your steps?
??!
I explained this yesterday, when I first reported the bug in another thread.
https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 87#p456087

It happens when you use the left hand search, and then switch to the right search .. and maybe vica versa.

You can also trigger it by using a right hand search, and then toggling to Filter:on to display the hidden filter criteria, and then selecting a collection name in the Search: control at the top, and then close the criteria display by toggling to Filter:Off.

I will respond to the rest in the morning ... is late here.

Ludek
Posts: 3074
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Ludek » Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:26 am

Yes, thanks, I already edited my post and reproduced.

It is a recent regression introduced in 2161, thanks for reporting, it is fixed in 2163 as
https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=15513

Barry4679
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Barry4679 » Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:05 pm

Ludek wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:48 am
Re 'Filter on/off', I think that current wording is confusing because:
1) it is not clear that it is a toggle
2) it is not clear that it switches between MM4 like advanced search and standard search
i.e. MM4 users using Ctrl+F in MM4 (or menu Edit > Search in MM4) are not aware how to achive this kind of search
see: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... it#p455673
3) The word "filter" is ambiguous

Maybe changing 'Filter: on/off' to a button would clarify it.
e.g. show [Advanced] button and upon clicking it -- it would bring the search editor and the button caption would change to [Simple]
Suggested in https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view ... 371#c52791
MM4 had a purpose to having a basic as well as an "advanced" search facility ... ie. the MM4 basic search panel listed a few common search columns, and you just had to fill in the cells you were interested in ... advanced was free form, and offered search of any column

MM5 has full field search, and there is no "basic" filter|search panel

So why maintain a UI distinction between simple and advanced search facilities"

It creates confusion. ... example:
1. I am here, and I type "bob" https://www.dropbox.com/s/tu1iz95j927wa ... 1.png?dl=0
2. Great ... lots of Bob's https://www.dropbox.com/s/zmq05anh4t1bb ... 2.png?dl=0
3. I click the confusing "filter:off" button, and I can see how you did it ... cool, I can add further criteria https://www.dropbox.com/s/7f65tniwbomkb ... 3.png?dl=0
4. Another day, I am here and want to do the same thing ... type bob https://www.dropbox.com/s/zzqreujvfiwa3 ... 4.png?dl=0
5. Huh? ... where is my "filter:off" button ?
6. Try clicking the funnel ... OK, that looks like I am back there again, but where is the "any text fields contains bob" line ? ... MM5 makes my head hurt ... https://www.dropbox.com/s/qmcauut3xgkbv ... 5.png?dl=0

It would be better IMO with just a single Filter control (no basic vs advanced) ... I don't see what you are gaining by adding this complexity.

Propose that you have two buttons ... 1. Show Filter ... and 2. Apply Filter

btw that 2nd link that you posted is not "public" ... ie. we can't read it.

Ludek
Posts: 3074
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Ludek » Wed Feb 27, 2019 4:39 am

Hi, you are true that the "filter:off" button does what the new "funnel" toolbar button in MM5 does.
Thanks for suggestion and pointing this out!

So yes, I would say that unifying the "filter:off" button with the "funnel" toolbar button makes perfect sense for consistency.

The only remaining downside of this is that MM4 users are not aware how to achive this kind of search
that MM4's menu Edit > Search is available via the "funnel" toolbar button in MM5.

EDIT: I upadated the bug and made it public.

Barry4679
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Barry4679 » Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:12 am

Ludek wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 4:39 am
The only remaining downside of this is that MM4 users are not aware how to achive this kind of search
that MM4's menu Edit > Search is available via the "funnel" toolbar button in MM5.
You could add an Edit|AdvancedSearch menu option.

Ludek
Posts: 3074
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 2165: search filter UI

Post by Ludek » Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:14 am

Yes, this might work, suggested here: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=12371

Post Reply