2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

dtsig
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Post by dtsig » Thu May 30, 2019 4:49 pm

After the video freeze (mentioned in another post) I have to reboot the client AND restart the server for the client to see the services.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

dtsig
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: 2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Post by dtsig » Thu May 30, 2019 5:39 pm

Turns out that it is not the freezing that is causing the problem seeing dlna server. Just shutting down the client then restarting makes it mandatory to restart the server. other wise the client will never see the server.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Ludek
Posts: 3036
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Post by Ludek » Fri May 31, 2019 4:20 am

Could you please describe what is the client and what is the server, it is not clear to me from the description and the topic name.
So I don't know how to test to see whether I can replicate the behaviour.

dtsig
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: 2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Post by dtsig » Fri May 31, 2019 10:18 am

Sorry .. the client is 2178 mm5. the server is newest mm4 beta 1883
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Ludek
Posts: 3036
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Post by Ludek » Fri May 31, 2019 5:09 pm

I cannot replicate, once I restart MM5 then it still discovers all the servers on the network (including MM4).
Just to be sure: By restarting the client (MM5) you mean closing the MM5 completely (Ctrl+F4 / or window close button) and re-open?
Does it always happen (with except for the first MM5 start after MM4 restart) or it is random issue?
Or is it that MM4 server appears in MM5 client only when MM4 is restarted once MM5 is running?
Do other clients on the same PC detect the MM4 server or it also fails to discover it?

Or it could be also instance of network issue described here: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view ... 000#c51940
where "network reset" was the solution that worked for me (details in my note 51940)

dtsig
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: 2178: After video freeze MM5 can't see dlna server

Post by dtsig » Fri May 31, 2019 9:30 pm

this appears to be a patience problem. it can take 5 minutes before the client sees the MM Server. Then a minute or 2 further for it to find the Library.

So i just have to wait and stop thinking these computers can be fast :)
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Post Reply