MMS on Synology DS220+ NAS

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey Server and learn about the newest builds.

Moderators: drakinite, Gurus

KurtBe

MMS on Synology DS220+ NAS

Post by KurtBe »

Hi, I am trying to run MM5 which I installed on a DeskTop PC.
I have transfereded all my music on a Synology NAS DS220+ (which does not run on an ARM if I am right).
I assume I cannot let MM5 Build its own database, because I will lose a lot of information from the MM4 database.
Before I start getting it all wrong, here are my questions (AND: I am a noob...).

1: I wonder if there is an advantage to run MMS on the NAS instead of Minimserver which I plan to use?

2: Since I am still in the proces of installing everything: IF I install MMS, which version should I use (there are currently 4 versions posted in this forum, I have no idea which one to pick.)?

3: If I run Mediamonkey 4 (which I bought years ago) on other machines, can I use the NAS as the Library where all the music is, or do I have to install MM 5 instead of keep using MM4?

4: I am trying to incorporate the MM4 database into MM. So far, it did not work. But his is perhaps not the right place to pop this question.

Thank you for any feedback.

Kurt
Lowlander

Re: MMS on Synology DS220+ NAS

Post by Lowlander »

1) At the moment MMS only integrates with MMW5, it doesn't integrate with either MMW4 or MMA. The benefit of MMS on a NAS is the always on nature, but if your PC with MMW5 is on when you need to access it from other devices it may be overkill.

2) The latest release for the device you're installing it on. So for Synology you'll need to the Synology installed (not sure if one exists).

3) MMW4/MMW5 can index, manage and play media files on NAS devices via their File Shares (don't use their DLNA Servers).

4) Into MMS or MMW5?

Note that MMS is alpha software, MMW5 on the other hand is a Release Candidate.
Peke

Post by Peke »

Hi,