Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

bigredheadone
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:43 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by bigredheadone »

I have requested support on this problem with MM5 Gold for quite some time but the problem has never been fixed. I keep being told to load different MM5 versions but the issue has never been resolved.

When making a selection along the top menu of MM5, the drop down items under the main selection disappear immediately when attempting to focus the mouse pointer on them. I have three different machines running Windows 10 home and Pro.
It happens on all three. I am using MM5 Gold.

I know I can't be the only person using MM5 Gold having this problem on 3 different computers. It's driving me crazy.
Lowlander
Posts: 51510
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by Lowlander »

Which version (Help > About) and Skin are you using and do you have non-default DPI or Text Size settings in Windows?
bigredheadone
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:43 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by bigredheadone »

MM5
5.01.2433

Current skin is Dark Monkey.
However, same problem happens with previous versions and all installed skins including default.


DPI and Text Size settings are Windows default. No modifications to Windows settings.
Barry4679
Posts: 1814
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by Barry4679 »

bigredheadone wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 9:52 pm MM5
5.01.2433
The latest is 2508, but note that it is beta, although a lot of people are using it, including me.
But I have run your version, and all versions in between, and have never seen the issue that you describe, although there must have been over a hundred bugs fixed since your version.

I have seen a issue like you describe outside of MediaMonkey. It turned out to be my mouse laser. It entirely went away with a new mouse.

You using the same mouse on all three computers?

A workaround in the meantime is to navigate using the Alt key ... ie. the Edit>Tools>ConvertFormat option is Alt then T then V, as shown by the underscores once you press the Alt key.
Want a dark skin for MM5? This is the one that works best for me .. elegant, compact & clear.
bigredheadone
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:43 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by bigredheadone »

I have installed MM5 2508 as advised, but issue persists.

Running MM5 on two laptops, Dell and HP.
Third machine is Alienware.
Same problem on all three computers.

I removed the pointing device on all three PC and substituted with different mouse or touch pad, but nothing changed.
Using different BT models of Logitech mouse on Dell and HP.
Using handheld BT keyboard with touch pad on Alienware.

Windows Pro running on HP and Alienware, Windows Home on Dell.
Windows software on all three are current and up to date.

I have both MM4 and 5 on all three machines. Could this be an issue? Possibly something in registry causing it?

Believe me, I love what you all have done with MM5. It just bugs me when something isn't working correctly.
Lowlander
Posts: 51510
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by Lowlander »

There must be something very specific you've done and done on 3 different machines. No issues here with multiple MM4/MM5 portable installs and on other machines.

As screencast and debug log send to Support may help shed light on what it is that causes this for you: viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86643
bigredheadone
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:43 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by bigredheadone »

Ok.

New ticket #2930 just submitted with zip file including screencast and debug files.

Thank you.
bigredheadone
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:43 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by bigredheadone »

ello,

First I would like to apologize for the misinformation previously given on the number of machines affected by menu issue in MM5.

I have discovered the Alienware machine is not having this issue.
However both the Dell and HP laptops are and neither one has a touchscreen.
Do you think this may have something to do with it?

Dennis
crawdad63
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2021 3:10 am

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by crawdad63 »

Ya it's hair-trigger. get as close to the arrow as possible before you swipe over.

Image
Barry4679
Posts: 1814
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by Barry4679 »

crawdad63 wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 6:18 pm Ya it's hair-trigger. get as close to the arrow as possible before you swipe over.
That would do my head in. I don't see it with either of my displays.
Want a dark skin for MM5? This is the one that works best for me .. elegant, compact & clear.
Lowlander
Posts: 51510
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by Lowlander »

Can you reproduce on Material Design (dark) and what Mode have you selected in the View menu?
crawdad63
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2021 3:10 am

Re: Drop down menu selections disappear MM5 Gold

Post by crawdad63 »

@Barry, I think it's a windows setting as this isn't the only program I have this problem with. I've gotten used to it
Post Reply