MM Server not accessible

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

jodido2

MM Server not accessible

Post by jodido2 »

I have a "smart" TV. MM server appears in the list of servers but trying to access it gets the message "not accessible." I've tried the fixes in the MM help pages and nothing. Other servers work fine (Tversity and Windows Media Player".
Peke
Posts: 14915
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Make sure you are using latest Beta version from viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86639&sd=d
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Ludek
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by Ludek »

Alsdo be sure that the device is approved on the Clients tab: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... .28DLNA.29
jodido2012
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:24 pm

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by jodido2012 »

Peke wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 8:19 pm Hi,
Make sure you are using latest Beta version from viewtopic.php?f=30&t=86639&sd=d
I'm using the non-beta version, 5.01.2433. Are you saying that my problem is because of the version I'm using?
jodido2012
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:24 pm

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by jodido2012 »

Ludek wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 1:36 pm Alsdo be sure that the device is approved on the Clients tab: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... .28DLNA.29
I don't see any devices on the clients tab, and i don't see a way to add one.
Ludek
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by Ludek »

Could it be a firewall issue blocking the MM5's server port?
Can you try to change the port in the Server tab (e.g. temporarily to the Windows Media Player's port 2869) to see whether it resolves the issue or temporarily disable firewall?

As for 5.0.2 version: Yes, it could help as it auto-configures the firewall once the
[x] Allow Windows firewall exception
checkbox is enabled (which is by default and is new in 5.0.2)
jodido2012
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:24 pm

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by jodido2012 »

Thanks so much. I reset the port info per your suggestion and also updated the Firewall settings, and now both the Library and the Server are visible.
Ludek
Posts: 4358
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: MM Server not accessible

Post by Ludek »

Ok, just note that leaving port as 2869 will be in conflict with the Windows Media Player's sever (once you want to access both servers) so it is better to keep separete port for MM5 and ensuring it is not blocked by firewall.
Post Reply