Linux.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Would you use mediamonkey on ubuntu?

You may select 1 option

 
 
View results

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Fri May 23, 2008 12:26 am

liuzerus87 wrote:Quick question (I didn't see anything on this)
Under wine, does it play and rip CDs from the CD drive correctly?
Wiki wrote:Following items do not work:

* Device synchronization, as I have deleted all synchronization plugins
* Opening webpages inside MM (gecko interface does not show anything, does MM rely so much on IE?). This includes Auto tag from Web, and maybe Statistics report.
* Because of previous point, any URL related operation fails (e.g. opening an external URL, opening Podcast directory node). MM opens a dialog and shows a WININET error.
* CD Rom burning: If CD/DVD is not mounted, it does not show in MM. Blank CD/DVD cannot be mounted, so burning cannot be done. Strangely enough, the burner form shows correct data with a data DVD (see screenshots).
* Autoplaylists do not show on click, but they show if you browse node by node with the keyboard
* Party mode is unusable and locks
* Send to Email shows Thunderbird, songs are not attached
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

botijo
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:20 am
Location: Ireland

Post by botijo » Fri May 23, 2008 1:49 am

Short answer: I did not spend much time trying to understand why I could not.

Long answer: I am looking at other forums apart from this one, and it looks like other CD extraction programs can be made to work. I am on holidays, so I cannot test those fixes. The first thing I should be trying is the Win9x burning patch, maybe configuring WINE to be working as Windows 98. Does somebody cares to try this?

botijo
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:20 am
Location: Ireland

Post by botijo » Sun Jun 08, 2008 6:29 am

I got an email from WINE HQ stating that I should be updating the status in their APPDB, and so I did. I noticed that CD/DVD Burning works now, although I am not sure if it was because of the Win98 burning patch. Anyhow, my first DVD burn in MM was made in Ubuntu, and not Windows.
The trick is easy to do:
* (Not verified) Install Win98 Burning Patch
* Insert already burnt CD/DVD into drive so that MM realizes there is a CD/DVD Burner in the system
* Go into CD/DVD Burning and setup like you want
* On the last window, switch to a blank CD/DVD and burn.
* Enjoy.

Apart from that, I did test the new MAD plugin. It looks like it provides a huge buffer somewhere, so that a seek operation can only be noticed after 10 seconds of the actual action.

I did not see any major changes from WINE 0.60 to WINE 1.0.RC4

joltek
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by joltek » Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:50 pm

I've use a lot of MP3 Organizer/Manager and MediaMonkey IS THE BEST!

"THE MM POWERS THAT BE - Do you realize that you are ignoring at least 35% of users out there that don't have a Microsoft OS?" .... The numbers of people that DON'T use MS OS is rising steadily everyday

It really sucks, especially when a person (...ME...) paid for a lifetime "Gold" keys and now I can't use it in Linux (Ubuntu 8.4).

@THE MM POWERS THAT BE...Please correct this as soon as possible!

Thank You.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by Big_Berny » Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:16 pm

joltek wrote:"THE MM POWERS THAT BE - Do you realize that you are ignoring at least 35% of users out there that don't have a Microsoft OS?" .... The numbers of people that DON'T use MS OS is rising steadily everyday
Don't know where this information is from but it's definitely not true! Maybe 35% already tried another OS. But it's over 90% who use Windows regulary!

Linux is less than 1%, Mac OS X has about 8% I think.

EDIT: Look here for example: http://marketshare.hitslink.com/report.aspx?qprid=8
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

joltek
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by joltek » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:17 pm

Big_Berny wrote:
joltek wrote:"THE MM POWERS THAT BE - Do you realize that you are ignoring at least 35% of users out there that don't have a Microsoft OS?" .... The numbers of people that DON'T use MS OS is rising steadily everyday
Don't know where this information is from but it's definitely not true! Maybe 35% already tried another OS. But it's over 90% who use Windows regulary!

Linux is less than 1%, Mac OS X has about 8% I think.

EDIT: Look here for example: http://marketshare.hitslink.com/report.aspx?qprid=8
O.k. So you got me. :) I pulled that number outta my ass .:D
Still... Since I'd paid for the GOLD KEYS. I want to use MM in Ubuntu!
Why should I wasted my money on a program that only work/available in MS?
Last edited by joltek on Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by Big_Berny » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:26 pm

Well, I'm not against MM for Linux! Just to make that clear!
But you bought a lifetime license for MM for Windows. So you have no 'right' to expect a Linux-version as this wasn't included in the price. It would just be an 'extra-feature' if it would work in Linux. Sorry but if you buy another program you also can't expect to run it in Linux or OS X.

But as I said I think that MM for Linux would be a good thing but I also think that it would be difficult to really make money of it.
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

joltek
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by joltek » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:39 pm

Big_Berny wrote:Well, I'm not against MM for Linux! Just to make that clear!
But you bought a lifetime license for MM for Windows. So you have no 'right' to expect a Linux-version as this wasn't included in the price. It would just be an 'extra-feature' if it would work in Linux. Sorry but if you buy another program you also can't expect to run it in Linux or OS X.

But as I said I think that MM for Linux would be a good thing but I also think that it would be difficult to really make money of it.
CORRECTION: I BOUGHT A LIFETIME LICENCE FOR MM. "The Program/Client".

I DID NOT bought it to use only in Windows. I bought it because I LOVE it after the "test trial"

As I said in my earlier post, I've use A LOT of MP3 Managers/Organizers and MM is the BEST program out there.

I'm willing to pay if EVERY PROGRAMS OUT THERE IS AS GOOD LIKE MM..Just make it available to all the popular OS's.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by Big_Berny » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:54 pm

The problem just is that MM is a small team with 5 developers I think. So it would need a lot of ressources to make a Linux-version. And I doubt that it would make sense economically as only 1% uses Linux and most of the users don't pay for software. Maybe you are an exception.
Another problem is that it's difficult to make a programm which works as efficient (performance-wise) as possible on all plattforms. For example Java-programs often are a lot slower. And I don't know if it's good if all windows-users have to sacrifice speed and features just that a little minority also can use MM in Linux. Besides it already runs in Wine AFAIK.

This is just the other side which you have to pay attention to. As MM really is the best musicprogram out there (also when 3.x isn't perfect yet IMHO) I'd be happy if it would also be available for other platforms.

Big_Berny
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

joltek
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by joltek » Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:56 pm

Yes. I do know that I can go through WINE and VIRTUALBOX .
"I already do"
But why should I have to bother with MS Windows when I'm a Gold key member? :)


@Big_Berny.....Are you one of the MM developers?
Last edited by joltek on Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by Big_Berny » Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:46 am

No, I'm not. Just a committed forum-member and scripter - like a lot others too. :)
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

shayguitarra
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:10 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by shayguitarra » Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:34 am

For various reasons I'm faced with a choice of trying to track down and pay through the nose for a legal copy of XP pro, switching to and paying an exorbitant price for Vista or making a complete switch to ubuntu which has up til now been running as a second operating system on my pc. After much weighing up of the pros and cons I've decided to take the latter option. The only major con is that I'll be leaving Mediamonkey behind. :( Unless of course I can get it working through wine.

So I would like to add my voice to those requesting an ubuntu version of MM. And just to be clear, I would have no problem paying for it.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:36 am

shayguitarra wrote:For various reasons I'm faced with a choice of trying to track down and pay through the nose for a legal copy of XP pro, switching to and paying an exorbitant price for Vista or making a complete switch to ubuntu which has up til now been running as a second operating system on my pc. After much weighing up of the pros and cons I've decided to take the latter option. The only major con is that I'll be leaving Mediamonkey behind. :( Unless of course I can get it working through wine.

So I would like to add my voice to those requesting an ubuntu version of MM. And just to be clear, I would have no problem paying for it.
I hope you can get it working - make sure you follow the instructions here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... ediaMonkey
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

shayguitarra
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:10 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by shayguitarra » Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:03 am

I hope you can get it working - make sure you follow the instructions here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... ediaMonkey
Believe me, I intend to try. Tried before without success, but fingers crossed.
I'll keep you posted. I know that ubuntu/MM is something of a holy grail for a lot of users.

Mitchman333

Re: Ubuntu.... mediamonkey.... meant to be..?

Post by Mitchman333 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:55 am

I am soooo close to getting this to work. Followed the instructions, I have Media Monkey finding files/Library - but when i go tot play any song - it just quickly skips to the next song, greys out, skips to the next song, greys out.

I know I'm close - any ideas on this one..?

I am not re-using any MM.DB files, music resides on Linux machine - File Monitor can find them and import them in the database..?

Any help/suggestions would be great.

Mitchman

Post Reply