Faster loading time when folder auto-update is enabled

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

AMG

Faster loading time when folder auto-update is enabled

Post by AMG »

I have 8500+ songs...and one of the features I bought MM for was auto-updating of the library based on folders. The rescan of all music each time I launch is...well...not so cool. Even with a built notebook...it can take 1-2 minutes on each launch.

Not a showstopper...but would be a cool performance improv. for a future version. ;)
jiri
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

You can disable the rescan on startup in Options and use only file monitoring while MM is running.

Jiri
AMG

Post by AMG »

I read through your help guide...and it mostly makes sense...however, I almost exclusively add songs while MM isn't running...and from what I understand...I'll have to leave start-up scan enabled to keep having things updated.

The performance is by no means bad, and, I'm not a developer...if there's not an optimization to be made I completely understand. :)

Great product! It does far more than I need...and, it was a pleasure uninstalling iTunes and buying MM!
Big_Berny

Post by Big_Berny »

Hi AMG,
well I posted a optimization for the auto-update-function some months ago. Unfortunately the developers didn't answered.

My idea was: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2748

Short Summary: By scanning the sizes of the folders MediaMonkey could see if there were some changes. If the folder size is the same (in bytes), nothing changed.

Example: If you have this structure c:\my music\artist\album and you want to auto-scan the whole my music folder, it should first check, if the size of the my music folder changed. If not, stop scanning. If yes check each artist-folder. If the artist1 folder has changed, check each album folder in this artist1 folder. If not, check directly the artist2 folder.

Big_Berny
Zebulon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:35 am
Location: Norway

Post by Zebulon »

The best thing to do I think is to always add/move/remove files using the browser tree in MM. This way you never have to rescan the library :D
Big_Berny

Post by Big_Berny »

That's not completely true! I use an extern tool to tag my files. That's the reason why I need this feature.

Greets
Big_Berny
onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno »

Big_Berny wrote:That's not completely true! I use an extern tool to tag my files. That's the reason why I need this feature.
And why don't you let MM run in Background while Tagging your files with that tool?
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx
pah68
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:26 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by pah68 »

Big_Berny wrote:That's not completely true! I use an extern tool to tag my files. That's the reason why I need this feature.

Greets
Big_Berny
There's your problem then.
psyXonova
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:57 am
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Contact:

Post by psyXonova »

onkel_enno wrote:
Big_Berny wrote:That's not completely true! I use an extern tool to tag my files. That's the reason why I need this feature.
And why don't you let MM run in Background while Tagging your files with that tool?
Onkel, from what I know this requires the File monitor enabled, which is only available on the Gold version and not all people have paid for it...

So, Big Berny, i guess the best sollution is to Tag with MM. After all, MM is a great tool for taggin and renaming so why don't you use it? Or you can always pay the few $$ that are required for Gold version and this way support the project as well!!!
Big_Berny

Post by Big_Berny »

Yeah, I know! MediaMonkey isn't bad for tagging but there are also much better tools around!
Hmmm... File monitor is a good idea. I've already purchased MM Gold a few months ago, so this could be a solution. :D

But nevertheless I think that auto-updateing could be much faster with some optimizations! Not everyone has the GOLD version and not everyone has Windwos 2000/XP.

Greets
Big_Berny
Peke
Posts: 13962
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke »

Big_Berny,
What Tagging Features You need which can be made within MM? (My Personal curiosity as I'm Sometimes using MP3/Tag Studio 3.5 for Ultra fast Tagging, but less and less as most of my needs MM can do with scripting)

I think that File Monitor also Works on Win9x but only on Startup.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
fn56
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 4:05 am

a MUST have tagging feature: Auto Complete

Post by fn56 »

Hi Peke,
See this post for a MUST have tagging feature to include in MM:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4428

It was requested by many users since a (very) long time ago.
Peke
Posts: 13962
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke »

I miss that feature too, but we'll see when and how it doesn't depend on me.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Guest

Post by Guest »

Thanks for the suggested workarounds...I believe the one I'll end up using is to have MM always run in the background. Since it consumes no CPU cycles and <30MB RAM...I'm overly concerned about it.

Philosophically, I would love to have true optimizations to lend to a faster start-up time (something in the realm of 10 seconds wouldn't hurt). However, that would require a very fast relational database to compare file-system data against...and, I respect what that would take to bring into MM.

The workaround is not obnoxious...but, it leads me to a branched feature request...

Please add a feature to have MM startup in minimized to the tray. Displaying the MM logo is cool, but, it would be nice to have it always in the tray if it's going to be an "Always On" app. ;)[/b]
Guest

Post by Guest »

quick correction...I'm NOT overly concerned by it. ;)
Post Reply