gpu acceleration in MM?

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Dreadlau » Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:47 am

Hello.

I recently purchased a new graphic card. ( sapphire hd6850 toxic edition )
And I'm wondering:
-Is there already some gpu acceleration in MM?
-Is there room for improvement in that area?
-In that case what are the various things that could get a boost in performance and or rendering using gpu acceleration.

Thank you!
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Thanasis
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 2:53 am

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Thanasis » Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:47 am

Good Question....

No Reply

Eyal
Posts: 3111
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Eyal » Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:49 pm

I don't think it's necessary at all. MM is not a graphic game software, performance relies mostly on its underlying database engine.
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:37 pm

Eyal wrote:I don't think it's necessary at all. MM is not a graphic game software, performance relies mostly on its underlying database engine.
Windows Vista and Windows 7 are not game software. Yet they use the gpu to render the interface.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

heartofhate
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:43 pm
Location: berlin

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by heartofhate » Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:59 am

isn't the glass effect handled by the gpu?
i think i have read somewhere at some time something about this...

Eyal
Posts: 3111
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Eyal » Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:47 am

Dreadlau wrote:
Eyal wrote:I don't think it's necessary at all. MM is not a graphic game software, performance relies mostly on its underlying database engine.
Windows Vista and Windows 7 are not game software. Yet they use the gpu to render the interface.
What I meant is that even with faster GPU rendering, MM won't be faster because disk access and database response time are slower.

Even so, do you really think you'll manage your library faster with graphic performance boost?

If you want to make MM faster, increase RAM and install it - along with MM.DB and Temp directory - on a fast SSD drive.
That was my setup until last week, before my SSD died... :cry:
Now it's back to my regular hard drive, and MM seems so slow ... :(
But my music is still to my liking ! :D

Cheer MM!

Eyal :~)
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Dreadlau » Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:09 am

Eyal wrote:
Dreadlau wrote:
Eyal wrote:I don't think it's necessary at all. MM is not a graphic game software, performance relies mostly on its underlying database engine.
Windows Vista and Windows 7 are not game software. Yet they use the gpu to render the interface.
What I meant is that even with faster GPU rendering, MM won't be faster because disk access and database response time are slower.

Even so, do you really think you'll manage your library faster with graphic performance boost?

If you want to make MM faster, increase RAM and install it - along with MM.DB and Temp directory - on a fast SSD drive.
That was my setup until last week, before my SSD died... :cry:
Now it's back to my regular hard drive, and MM seems so slow ... :(
But my music is still to my liking ! :D

Cheer MM!

Eyal :~)
Well I was just posting a question.
I don't know the answer myself. I'm not a developer.

But I'm especially thinking about the interface rendering.
My understanding is that the instant and (almost) perfectly fluid animations and rendering of the windows in Vista/7 is thanks to the gpu acceleration.
And I read now and there that some parts of some commonly used programs are now using gpu acceleration. Like internet browsers or even photoshop.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:09 pm

It makes sense for internet browsers or photoshop, because images/textures/graphics, etc. may have to be rendered immediately for viewing. There's really nothing comparable in MM.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Rojer
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:06 am

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by Rojer » Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:08 am

MM does not have any graphics to render, no point in using gpu whatsoever.

As for performance gain, I found that disk access is indeed the bottleneck and, despite Mm being the best at handling large collections, it can still feel sluggish. At first, I ran an auto-defrag script on the db file, which helped, but not good enough. Going for flash memory was the worst option : thousands of writes a day will kill it in few months.

I went for a ramdisk. Now MM behave like WMP with a 12 songs collection :)

Never looked back...

ma_t14
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:59 am

Re: gpu acceleration in MM?

Post by ma_t14 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:17 pm

Rojer wrote:MM does not have any graphics to render, no point in using gpu whatsoever.

As for performance gain, I found that disk access is indeed the bottleneck and, despite Mm being the best at handling large collections, it can still feel sluggish. At first, I ran an auto-defrag script on the db file, which helped, but not good enough. Going for flash memory was the worst option : thousands of writes a day will kill it in few months.

I went for a ramdisk. Now MM behave like WMP with a 12 songs collection :)

Never looked back...
But how can a ramdisk be useful if it gets wiped every time a computer shuts down?? For temporary files it sounds like a good enough idea but for storing the database it doesn't make sense to me. The database will be wiped on next restart/shut down. Maybe I got my facts wrong so correct me if I do...

Post Reply