Virtual Drive

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Matzeka
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:11 am

Virtual Drive

Post by Matzeka »

Hi,

would it be possible to include in the next version the choice whether to install the virtual drive or not?
Not all programs run, when a virtual drive is installed.

That would be great.

Matzeka
Lowlander
Posts: 48782
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander »

You mean MM's virtual CD? Or do you have a virtual drive mounted on your computer and want to install MM on it?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Josti
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:47 pm

Post by Josti »

VirtualCD is NOT a Virtual Drive... It's a function of the Main Program, it doesn't create a new Drive in Windows Explorer.
Matzeka
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:11 am

Post by Matzeka »

Yes, you are right, Josti. Nevertheless some programs are are a little bit "unwillingful" to work while mm is installed, which - as i am inclined to estimate - is related to this virtual whatsoever.

@lowlander: no, i haven't mounted a virtual drive. and my version of mm is - or at the moment was - regularly installed on the harddisc. i have meant virtual cd.
Lowlander
Posts: 48782
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander »

I don't think that the virtual CD of MM could influence any program in any way. What type of programs and what type of problems are you talking about? Do problems occur while MM is running or also when it's not? Do you have the gold version and if so do you use the file monitor?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Matzeka
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:11 am

Post by Matzeka »

I am talking of Sacred - some Diablo-like slaying game. When I have installed MM the game refuses to run, or more correctly said: The copyprotection refuses to recognize the game-cd. After de-installing MM the game runs normally. I have the gold-version and the filemonitor is turned off.
Lowlander
Posts: 48782
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander »

That is very strange. I assume the copyprotection of the game is refusing to play the game.

The question is if MM is causing this (seems so) and if so what part of MM. I personally don't think its the virtual CD.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Matzeka
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:11 am

Post by Matzeka »

I just tried to be sure. After installing MM the game refuses to run...
With MM uninstalled everything is fine.
Strange.
Lowlander
Posts: 48782
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander »

A case for the developers.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Guest

Post by Guest »

Just a thought, but...

Have you checked whether MM is configured to associate with any file types which are common to the game. This might be causing a conflict?

Worth ruling out, at least!
Peke
Posts: 13820
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke »

Matzeka,
:) It worked With Me :)
What version of Sacred you have?
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply