1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

ZeusII
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64 [BUG# 5826]

Post by ZeusII »

Hi!

Got this problem in my last reinstall (or at least I noticed it). I'm also using vista x64.

solved it by enterig component services: c:\windows\System32\comexp.msc

then go to component services > computers > my computer > dcom config

find mediamonkey entry, right click propierties

go to security tab and add your user to "launch and activation" and "configuration" permissions.

after doing this, no more errors logged.
Peke
Posts: 13445
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by Peke »

There is one thing we have noticed regarding Vista and Win 7 x64 and that is, if MediaMonkey is installed using Windows XP Compatibility Mode everything is gets in its place and MediaMonkey Automatization COM Server is registered correctly.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by gpzbc »

ZeusII wrote:Hi!

Got this problem in my last reinstall (or at least I noticed it). I'm also using vista x64.

solved it by enterig component services: c:\windows\System32\comexp.msc

then go to component services > computers > my computer > dcom config

find mediamonkey entry, right click propierties

go to security tab and add your user to "launch and activation" and "configuration" permissions.

after doing this, no more errors logged.

Yeah, that is exactly what I do. Unfortunately you have to re-do it every time that you install a new version of MediaMonkey or update it. It started happening for me with the 3.1 beta and hasn't stopped. Although I had never seen it with 3.0.
--
The gpzbc
Peke
Posts: 13445
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by Peke »

Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by gpzbc »

Very nice! Thank you.
--
The gpzbc
nanohead
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:21 pm
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by nanohead »

I just noticed the same thing in my event viewer.... doesn't seem to hurt anything though

been a media monkey user for many years, love it
gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by gpzbc »

I just downloaded 3.1.1.1261 (RC-3) and it appears that this hasn't been fixed. I guess I haven't seen the changelog yet either. Maybe the fix isn't in this release?
--
The gpzbc
gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by gpzbc »

Oh, I see from this forum thread that the most recent releases only address the Amazon autotag issue.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... &sk=t&sd=a
--
The gpzbc
adrianmarsh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:27 am
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by adrianmarsh »

I get this same log event, multiple times. I can also hear Vista making audio sounds, as though some USB device has been detected (initially I thought that what it was), however the logs clearly stating DCOM 7DB2DA7A-8F3D-4329-990C-32E15C849F00.
The odd thing is, this happens even when MM isnt running, and seems quite intermittent.

I'm running 32bit vista on a macbook pro. MM 3.1.1.1261
moatmai
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by moatmai »

I'm currently experiencing this issue with Windows 7, 32-Bit, Build 3.20.1287...

Uninstalling, then reinstalling MediaMonkey is quite a chore.
gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by gpzbc »

Interesting. I haven't experienced this problem in quite a few beta builds. And I have been watching for it.
I am running Windows 7 64-bit with build 1287
--
The gpzbc
rusty
Posts: 7313
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by rusty »

Moatmai,

I haven't seen this either. If you're able to reproduce, can you generate a debug log as described at:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... ?f=6&t=341

Thanks.

-Rusty
notmetoo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64 [BUG# 5826]

Post by notmetoo »

Same problem on Windows 7, 64bit
ZeusII wrote:Hi!

Got this problem in my last reinstall (or at least I noticed it). I'm also using vista x64.

solved it by enterig component services: c:\windows\System32\comexp.msc

then go to component services > computers > my computer > dcom config

find mediamonkey entry, right click propierties

go to security tab and add your user to "launch and activation" and "configuration" permissions.

after doing this, no more errors logged.
My concern is with network restrictions that may be applied by adding a User to the "launch and activation" and "configuration".

The simple way to get to Component Services, type comexp.msc in the run command press enter.

I solved the issue by going to 'Component Services > computers > My Computer > DCOM Config > Mediamonkey (Right Click) > Properties > Security Tab. Then select 'Use Default' for all three options.
gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by gpzbc »

Doesn't that result in the same thing?
--
The gpzbc
rusty
Posts: 7313
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: 1236: DistributedCOM errors on Vista 64

Post by rusty »

Post Reply