MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is running

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

Lowlander
Posts: 48112
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is running

Post by Lowlander »

MediaMonkey no longer recognizes that a CD is inserted when EAC is running at the same time. As the rip option isn't available in the My Computer > CD node only the rip icon in the tree allows the user to rip the CD. FreeDB lookup is impossible to do manually (automatic lookup is disabled).

Seen on 1424 on XP. Can anyone reproduce?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
rusty
Posts: 7329
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by rusty »

This doesn't appear to be an MM issue. It occurs with MM3 as well, along with Windows Explorer autoplay notifications--i.e. EAC seams to take exclusive control of the CD/DVD.

-Rusty
Lowlander
Posts: 48112
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by Lowlander »

The strange thing is that I hadn't notice this happening for a while on MediaMonkey 4. MediaMonkey 3 did have this too, but it seemed something that didn't happen on MediaMonkey 4. I guess I was mistaken.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
DazB
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:09 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by DazB »

Hi,

I don't have anything to rip at the moment, but has deselecting the "Lock drive tray during extraction" option in EAC been tested?

Daz
Lowlander
Posts: 48112
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by Lowlander »

I was right, with no changes to either EAC or MM with both running MM currently recognizes the CD.
DazB wrote:Lock drive tray during extraction
Where is this option in EAC and wouldn't that only affect the actual extraction and not just having EAC running?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
stan9980
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by stan9980 »

The option is under EAC -> EAC Options -> Extraction (bottom check-box).

I've been using EAC for ages and always had had this option ticked, and EAC has always prevented MM (or other programs) from reading my optical drives.

Personally I find it quite handy as I don't want MM to bother grabbing info on cds I'm going to rip with EAC.

Cheers,

stan9980
Lowlander
Posts: 48112
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by Lowlander »

The option is disabled here and MediaMonkey sees the CD's.
stan9980 wrote:I don't want MM to bother grabbing info on cds I'm going to rip with EAC
I disabled automatic FreeDB lookup in MediaMonkey.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
stan9980
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: MM doesn't recognize CD when inserted while EAC is runni

Post by stan9980 »

Lowlander wrote:I disabled automatic FreeDB lookup in MediaMonkey.
I've seen the option many times but never put 2 and 2 together. :oops:
Post Reply