CD track info automatically lost in seconds [#6422]

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Milopita
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: CD track info automatically lost in seconds [#6422]

Post by Milopita » Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:18 am

Lowlander wrote:After MediaMonkey 4 final is released.
Any guesses how far away we are from that date?

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: CD track info automatically lost in seconds [#6422]

Post by Lowlander » Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:12 am

No, dates are not given, but much progress has been made as it is in the Release Candidate phase.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

ZenGeekDad
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 2:44 pm

Re: CD track info automatically lost in seconds [#6422]

Post by ZenGeekDad » Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:48 pm

ZenGeekDad wrote: ... So, until the promised land of MM v.4 finally appears, I think I will do this:
(1) If MM finds no track info,...
(2) Open a separate audio ripper (such as Cowon's JetAudio), and enter track info there
(3) upload that track info freedb (in JetAudio)
(4) Return to MM, and add/rescan these newly ripped tracks into MM...
I know MM4 is finally out, so this thread is dead for many users. But I owe the topic one last update:

The process I described above -- to get around the bug in uploading track info from MM3 to freedb -- was NOT satisfactory. Beyond the pain of working in two music managers, the info I would upload to freedb from any other music manager would not appear in freedb for a minimum of 24 hours! Ripping CDs becomes a major pain with a 24+ hr pause between steps 3 & 4 above.

So, I gave up on doing my civic duty of contributing track data to freedb.

(I will be upgrading to MM4 soon; just haven't had the time to do that carefully. With a massive library of highly organized and tagged songs, I won't do the migration without first studying it and taking some time-consuming precautions.)

Post Reply