MM opens by bouncing main window down and up? [#8800]

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

MM opens by bouncing main window down and up? [#8800]

Post by tbessie »

I was wondering what's up with how MediaMonkey 4 starts - I have the splash screen turned off, and when I start up MM, a frame the size of the main window opens, then it minimizes to the taskbar, then it maximizes back to the main window, fully rendered.

What's with that? Why not just have the main window appear? What's with the bouncing?

- Tim
Lowlander
Posts: 48096
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by Lowlander »

I haven't seen this before. What OS are you on?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Windows 7 Ultimate x64, MM launched from the "Quick Launch" bar.

- Tim
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by nohitter151 »

It does not happen to me, I am running MM4 on Win 7 64 bit as well. Maybe an addon? Which addons do you use?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Not using any addons at all.

I will make a little movie of it and post it.

- Tim
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Ok, here's a video of the effect I took with my camera.

For some reason, when I used Microsoft's video screen-capture tool, it doesn't show it - it just shows MM4 appearing, no bounce. That is suspicious... Anyway, take a look, folks:

http://www.timbessie.com/misc/video/med ... Bounce.avi

- Tim
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Hmm - nobody else sees this happen?

Is the video viewable? It's 8mb.

- Tim
Lowlander
Posts: 48096
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by Lowlander »

Saw the video, but I haven't seen this myself.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
hasse99

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by hasse99 »

tbessie wrote:Hmm - nobody else sees this happen?

Is the video viewable? It's 8mb.

- Tim
Same observation here! Win 7 64-bit, 4 GB.
DazB
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:09 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by DazB »

Hi,

It does it on my system - 32bit Windows 7 though using a dual monitor setup (both 1920x1080). Maybe because the graphics card isn't particularly powerful the screen isn't redrawing quickly enough?

Daz
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

DazB wrote:Hi,

It does it on my system - 32bit Windows 7 though using a dual monitor setup (both 1920x1080). Maybe because the graphics card isn't particularly powerful the screen isn't redrawing quickly enough?

Daz
Hmm, I don't know - I'm seeing this happen on my Home Theater PC, which is running on a reasonably powerful Core i3 chip, lotsa memory, and has a decent graphics card in it - not gamer-level, but modern and good for movies:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814102882

"SAPPHIRE 100292DDR3L Radeon HD 5450 1GB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card"

... under the latest Catalyst drivers. That shouldn't be so slow that I'd see windows moving around like that.

- Tim
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Sorry, my video card is this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814102933

So it's the current generation ATI card.

- Tim
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Does anyone think I should post a bug-report on this? It seems OS-related (Only on Win 7, in some cases).

- Tim
Lowlander
Posts: 48096
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by Lowlander »

You could try that, it might help. In the meanwhile reference this bug if you send the debug log in: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=8800
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
tbessie
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: MM opens by bouncing main window down and up?

Post by tbessie »

Lowlander wrote:You could try that, it might help. In the meanwhile reference this bug if you send the debug log in: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=8800
Ooo, you created a bug on it! Thanks!

- Tim
Post Reply