multiple issues

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

nigmas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:47 pm
Contact:

multiple issues

Post by nigmas »

I recently start using the MM4, but there are minor issues that make a difference.
First of all the system is a Win 7 64.

1. When minimizing and maximizing an error occurs blocking the program, if I change the compatibility to xp sp3 I lose the preview with media keys If I set as administrator solves it for some time

2. Using MM4 in 98% of the time the media keys of the keyboard (Microsoft wireless comfort keyboard 5000) don't work and I lose the pop up of the keyboard (sound, caps, num, scroll lock) if the media keys work the pop up's doesn't show even if the MM4 is minimize (change the ini file doesn't work)
Last edited by nigmas on Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
doniago
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:20 pm
Location: Burlington, VT
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by doniago »

3. As a minor but irritating issue, I'd note that when selecting a range of songs by clicking one, then Ctrl-Shift clicking at the end of a range, often the song at the bottom of the range doesn't end up included in the range.
Peke
Posts: 13433
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by Peke »

Do you have MS driver software installed for your keyboard? If yes Try to uninstall and test 1 and 2.

Re 3: I'm unable to replicate.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
nigmas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by nigmas »

There is no point deleting the keyboard software because if I do that the media functions and the popup will no longer be available.
The bug of minimizing is very annoying, I already try the compatibility with xp sp3, vista and with administrator rights but its only fixes it for a few minutes after that the MM4 crashes having to restart the program.
The program is good and has a lot of functions that help me organize all my music but these minor bugs are ..... today I was trying to add more musics and minimizing is part of the process, the program crash for more than 10 times, I don't know if is related but when I copy 20 musics into the folder out side the mm4 the program showed the popup error for each music (I have the library searching for new entries constantly), the program was minimized.
nigmas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by nigmas »

Update:
with MM4 minimized the media keys don't work on desktop (no window maximized), windows explorer, xplorer2, jdownloader and opera next with utorrent, IE, Chrome, Adobe Acrobat and outlook they work well
Peke
Posts: 13433
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by Peke »

Driver issue is known. and FYI you will not loose Media Functions. The main issue is that MS driver do not Recognize MM as valid Media APP so instead of allowing MM to handle Keyboard commands it tries to steal key presses and hide from MM expecting that WMP or Winamp is started :( all aps that rely on system handling Keys work.

Try starting Non-Skinned version of MM and Retest.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
nigmas
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by nigmas »

the non-skinned version has the same issues.
What is the difference between mm4 and other players (vlc, real player etc) that work?
amar3213
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:58 am
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by amar3213 »

Peke wrote:Do you have MS driver software installed for your keyboard? If yes Try to uninstall and test 1 and 2.

Re 3: I'm unable to replicate.
Same problem of selection As in Re3.

When I am trying to select multiple files in library with Ctrl+Shift key, the first selected file is automatically unselected from selection. It makes tagging much difficult in Mediamonkey because due to this some files missed from tagging due to their unselection. If we want to add them in selection we need to start selection from previous one file. And this problem happened every repeated time when I add more files to selection with ctrl+shift key. The same problem happened in Now playing window list too. For problem description see this image, problem described in red text in imageshttps://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-Vu1YC ... sp=sharing
amar3213
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:58 am
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by amar3213 »

amar3213 wrote:
Peke wrote:Do you have MS driver software installed for your keyboard? If yes Try to uninstall and test 1 and 2.

Re 3: I'm unable to replicate.
Same problem of selection As in Re3.

When I am trying to select multiple files in library with Ctrl+Shift key, the first selected file is automatically unselected from selection. It makes tagging much difficult in Mediamonkey because due to this some files missed from tagging due to their unselection. If we want to add them in selection we need to start selection from previous one file. And this problem happened every repeated time when I add more files to selection with ctrl+shift key. The same problem happened in Now playing window list too. For problem description see this image, problem described in red text in imageshttps://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-Vu1YC ... sp=sharing
I just lookout for this problem in other old version of mediamonkey, MediaMonkey Version 4.0.3.1476 & it doesn't have this problem so I am going to use this old version until this bug will not fix in current version of MediaMonkey_4.0.7.1511 but there is also a problem I can't select multiple files at once using ctrl+shift key in album art view mode, I can select multiple file in detail view mode only.
Lowlander
Posts: 47880
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by Lowlander »

amar3213 wrote:Same problem of selection As in Re3.
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=9543
However just using Shift key works.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by dtsig »

amar3213 wrote:
amar3213 wrote:
Peke wrote:Do you have MS driver software installed for your keyboard? If yes Try to uninstall and test 1 and 2.

Re 3: I'm unable to replicate.
Same problem of selection As in Re3.

When I am trying to select multiple files in library with Ctrl+Shift key, the first selected file is automatically unselected from selection. It makes tagging much difficult in Mediamonkey because due to this some files missed from tagging due to their unselection. If we want to add them in selection we need to start selection from previous one file. And this problem happened every repeated time when I add more files to selection with ctrl+shift key. The same problem happened in Now playing window list too. For problem description see this image, problem described in red text in imageshttps://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-Vu1YC ... sp=sharing
I just lookout for this problem in other old version of mediamonkey, MediaMonkey Version 4.0.3.1476 & it doesn't have this problem so I am going to use this old version until this bug will not fix in current version of MediaMonkey_4.0.7.1511 but there is also a problem I can't select multiple files at once using ctrl+shift key in album art view mode, I can select multiple file in detail view mode only.
As I am always amazed at the things that MM does that I don't know about I was wondering ... What does Ctrl+Shift do? I Know that Ctrl+Click will select individual files, and Shift+Click will select a range of files. This has always been a windows standard (and I think most os's(?). But what does Ctrl+Shift suppose to do. It appears to just Ctrl+Click

Thanks
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
Lowlander
Posts: 47880
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by Lowlander »

You can click a file, shift click a file and get all files in between selected as well. Then you can select another file somewhere in the list and then Ctrl+Shift click another file and the files in between those 2 are selected as well. This way you have made to group selections of non-joined files.

The bug is in the second step where the first selected file should remain selected, however it doesn't. Ctrl Click the file that gets unselected to resolve until the bug itself is fixed.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by dtsig »

Thanks man ... always love to learn something new (well probably not new just over looked for years :) )
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
amar3213
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:58 am
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by amar3213 »

amar3213 wrote:
Peke wrote:Do you have MS driver software installed for your keyboard? If yes Try to uninstall and test 1 and 2.

Re 3: I'm unable to replicate.
Same problem of selection As in Re3.

When I am trying to select multiple files in library with Ctrl+Shift key, the first selected file is automatically unselected from selection. It makes tagging much difficult in Mediamonkey because due to this some files missed from tagging due to their unselection. If we want to add them in selection we need to start selection from previous one file. And this problem happened every repeated time when I add more files to selection with ctrl+shift key. The same problem happened in Now playing window list too. For problem description see this image, problem described in red text in imageshttps://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-Vu1YC ... sp=sharing

Selecting bug still not fixed after 4 years. I checked all the version till now:
MediaMonkey_4.0.6.1501
MediaMonkey_4.0.7.1511
MediaMonkey_4.1.0.1646_Debug

All have same selecting problem and this is the only reason I am still using old "MediaMonkey_4.0.3.1476" version. Very sad...........
Lowlander
Posts: 47880
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: multiple issues

Post by Lowlander »

3) Still can't reproduce (4.1.0.1686), the only times I see this is when I'm likely still holding down the Ctrl key.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply