Page 1 of 2

Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 10:54 am
by PenaltyShots
With every iteration of MM, I pray that FINALLY maybe the app won't be so incredibly bug-prone. It's the most full-featured media manager out there, and I love all of its features -- but if it drives me crazy with random crashes all over the place, then all of those features are not worth beans and I'll go looking elsewhere.

And so it still goes. This keeps popping up at completely random intervals: "Access violation at address [some hex address that is always different] in module 'MediaMonkey.exe'. Read of address [some other hex address that is always different]."

It keeps popping up, I hit OK on it (that's the only option), MM keeps running as if nothing happened, then it pops up again a little while later.

Totally annoying. Makes me want to just chuck MM and go back to the kludge-fest that iTunes 11 has become. At least it's a more stable kludge-fest.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:21 am
by olivechicago
I have no complaints about MM, and since I've been using beta now for some time, I accept quirks and errors, but up until 4.1.0.1672, I've never gotten any errors really.

For some reason with 1672, I am periodically getting the same errors.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:38 am
by dtsig
PenaltyShots .. you don't mention what version of MMW you are using or your basic 'computer' environment/os and size of your library

As with olivechicago I found MMW very stable in the released product. The beta has had its problems. I occasionally get an access violation. Some of these I put off to using MMW on the same server that I do application development. At the same time my daughter and/or wife might be using dlna AND i might be editing/adding *files* ... always cleaning up <G>.

So maybe some more specifics .. or try the beta if you haven't and see if it helps.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:42 pm
by Lowlander
Capture Access Violations in a debug log (step 4b) and send it to support for developer analysis so they can see what in your environment causes this: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:56 pm
by PenaltyShots
System is Win 7 x 64. Very stable in all other respects and in all other apps I use (and I use a lot of apps).

I was on MM 4.0.7 which crashed a lot with various errors including this access violation one. Decided to try the latest beta 4.1 build yesterday, crossing my fingers. Nope, no improvement. OK, so it's a beta and I guess I'll chalk it up to that for now. The problem, though, has historically been that once the beta goes gold, it's STILL got the problem.

I'll try step 4b and see what it captures.

Thanks.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:32 pm
by kshanholtzer
I get this error as well. I'm using 4.07.1511 on Windows 7 64-bit.

This error does not occur until after MM has been open for a few hours. I don't know if it's related to playing or library maintenance or monitoring.

When it does happen, the event that triggers the error is right-clicking almost anywhere in the GUI or pressing the properties key on the keyboard.

Once it happens, sometimes I cannot do anything with MM because the error pops up no matter what keyboard event occurs and other times I can get a few left-clicks in before I have to just restart MM.

Restarting MM eliminates the error...for a while.

I have not yet been able to predict when the error will occur.

Next time it happens I will post a screen shot.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:48 pm
by Lowlander
kshanholtzer wrote:Next time it happens I will post a screen shot.
Better capture it in a debug log.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:35 pm
by rovingcowboy
If you search for my posts from 10 years ago you will see one for this error with 18 pages where we found out it was windows doing it, ms admitted the win98 was causing it. My guess windows is still causing it. This is a memory low or out of memory error caused by a slow cpu which the cycles fill up fast and thus fill the cache

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:38 pm
by rovingcowboy
Oh since I raised the priority on my systems I don't get this anymore, and I'm running a system with 5 Internal hd's and one external USB drive

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 5:49 pm
by PenaltyShots
2.66 Ghz Intel Core i7 920 here, with 6GB RAM. Not much else running. I do have a pretty big library, 30K+ tracks, but that would be the only factor that might be a memory hog. I can't think of anything I'm doing in MM that would be a CPU hog, though. The error pops up a lot when MM is just sitting idle, not even playing anything and I'm not doing anything with it either.

DebugView doesn't tell me much. Here's the chunk it recorded when the error popped up last time:

00000252 7499.36376953 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000253 7499.36474609 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000254 7546.63574219 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000255 7546.63574219 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000256 7799.35595703 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000257 7799.35595703 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000258 7846.62109375 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000259 7846.62109375 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000260 8099.35156250 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000261 8099.35156250 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000262 8146.60693359 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000263 8146.60693359 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000264 8399.33593750 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000265 8399.33593750 [3428] 5796 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
00000266 8446.59277344 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 ENTER: DllCanUnloadNow
00000267 8446.59277344 [3428] 4644 0000000000000000 LEAVE: DllCanUnloadNow
[9232] LOG_SYSTEM: [GoogleUpdate:goopdate]: ERROR - Cannot create ETW log writer

Rovingcowboy, can you please elaborate? What did you raise your priority to for MediaMonkey? Above Normal? High?

Thanks, guys.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:39 pm
by rovingcowboy
You have 7 cores? Is that what I7 means? It is not a log jam caused by hardware but I'm wondering if it is caused by windows clearing the ram mm gets for his cache, that would take away the sectors he is looking for and give errors of i can't find #300000000...... since windows had removed it, so since it was win98's fault before i'm going with windows again and suggesting it is the way windows clears ram of its files as it might not be able to handle the large number of cores, but that is just a best guess.
i raised the mediamonkey exe to high.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:07 pm
by Lowlander
PenaltyShots wrote:DebugView doesn't tell me much.
Did you install the debug version of MediaMonkey? If you did you may need run DBGView as Administrator to capture MM's output.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:59 pm
by PenaltyShots
No, I didn't install the Debug version.

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:10 am
by PenaltyShots
Rovingcowboy -- No, the Intel Core i7 920 has 4 cores. (Google "Intel i7" -- it's the name of the processor.)

Re: Access Violation -- over and over and over

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:18 am
by Lowlander
You'll have to in order to capture a debug log.