Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

dolf-volkoff
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:26 pm
Contact:

Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by dolf-volkoff »

If you run MM as administrator, it reverts MM skin to the default Metro skin.
Image
Lowlander
Posts: 47959
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by Lowlander »

Explain? Running as Administrator is as a different User thus it uses different settings (default if none were set yet).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
dolf-volkoff
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by dolf-volkoff »

Yes, I also think it's a poorly named Windows function, but here it is.

Running as administrator:

Right click mediamonkey executable -> click "Run as administrator" from context menu
Image
dtsig
Posts: 3256
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by dtsig »

Maybe the real question is why are you running as administrator? Most windows programs do not run as administrator unless specifically told to do so. You don't gain anything from it in the case of MMW that I know of
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
dolf-volkoff
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by dolf-volkoff »

You can't install add-ons for all users without running MM as administrator, as they are being installed in Program Files MM folder.
Image
rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am
Contact:

Re: Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by rivorson »

Running as administrator doesn't use a different user account, though that function does exist and has a similar name. It is necessary if you want MM to maintain file associations.

It is possible that the MediaMonkey.ini file has somehow come to require admin permission to read, in which case MM without admin rights might either fall back on default settings or create another MediaMonkey.ini in a folder with write permission. This scenario is unlikely but it's the only explanation I can think of.

When you run as administrator and MM opens with the Metro skin, are your database and settings all intact and correct? And does MM run Metro skin every time you run as administrator?
dolf-volkoff
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Running MM as administrator reverts MM skin to Metro

Post by dolf-volkoff »

Yes, all settings are correct. Nothing changes except the skin (also some "Run script:" shortcuts become blank in administrator mode). And next time you open Mediamonkey (with or without administrator mode) your skin doesn't come back. You'll have to manually select your skin.
Image
Post Reply