Transparent Object

If you want to contribute MediaMonkey skins, themes, icons, etc...

Moderators: Morten, Gurus

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:27 pm

Is it possible to use a transparent bitmap in the theme editor? If so, what is the best way of "making" one? :P

Thanks

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Transparent Object

Post by rovingcowboy » Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:42 pm

depends on where you want to use it. you can not use one in the theme cause it wont' show.
but if you want to use them on the float player thats good and also you can use them on the main player but in general on the main player it is used on the sides for the center section and the right section. if you just want
a short square player like i've made several of.
now on the floatplayer you can make them there and used them to cut out holes in the background image or
make the whole background go away. i made to floatplayers with transparent backgrounds.
using transparent images on the player in the audio visual effects does NOT work those need to be bmp's or full background non transparent png files.
on the main player where you want to make the center and left sections transparent it is best to when telling the theme engine what image to use for those secitons just use the pink area / magenta area of the themeimage.
get a fair sized area of the color and then make the border stretch and the whole image on the bottom of the code area stretch also., now making the background on the player seek thumb image is able to be transparent also.
best way to make the images for the thumb's and others on the float player is use a program that saves to png files. and make sure it saves them with transparent backgrounds. as only bmp and png files work in the skins. so gif's are not able to be made and used. :)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:48 pm

I am intending to make a transparent miniplayer/tray-player.

Thanks for the tip on the file format. Which program would anyone recommend to look for? I only have paint on here at the moment..

Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Morten » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:43 pm

Benn wrote:I am intending to make a transparent miniplayer/tray-player.

Thanks for the tip on the file format. Which program would anyone recommend to look for? I only have paint on here at the moment..
Photoshop CS4 without a doubt.

It's the best for non-vector image editing and for making design mockups. Easy to learn basic features as well (gradients, filters etc.)
Best regards,
Morten

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:17 am

I'll look into it, thanks Morten.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Transparent Object

Post by rovingcowboy » Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:03 am

i don't use any one image program.

i use windows picture it to make the png files cause it has a png plus format that will be kept as a template i can then just save that in my folders and go back to it where i can change and move single items in the template.

it also saves as a png image which is not a template so it is what i use when i put the images in the skin files but i have found png format is not the same with different programs so find one program you like that saves to png and use it for your editing. don't make a png from say unknown program one and try to edit it in your program you use to make them. as it might not work. I've tried to use png's made with ifanview and some others that save images in that format but when editing them they turned out to look like a television set that was too far from the channels signal and very little of it got through most was static. so the png image should be one from a big editing program. not little save as / convert to programs. but in using different programs i found i can add different effects to the images most of the ones i have are old and don't do many effects so i use ulead and picture it and (ifranview-on bmp's) and photofiltre with the mass of it being done on picture it.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:02 am

I've run into a bit of trouble:

Basically I'm trying to make a new microplayer like this one: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... a&start=15 to match a transparent theme I've been using.

I've replaced all the bitmaps with my transparent .png, but all I "see" is a transparent box but with no text.

My microplayerH ini: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?k2x2idwzzuj
My microplayerH theme: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?z3um3yn2zby

I would be grateful if anyone could look over them to see what I'm missing; I am stumped so far. :P

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Transparent Object

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:10 am

i don't remember and i don't even see anyplace in my first reply that said microplayer?

i said floatplayer or mini player.

i don't believe you can make the microplayer transparent since it sits on the taskbar part of the windows shell.
if they do it would i believe be the same as the main player. used only on the buttons and on the section of the player you don't want to show like the center when it is stretched. but then it will still show the client image, frame, background, just like it does on the main player.

morten might know if you can since he got the transparent code working with petrcbr but i don't belive it will so send a pm to morten and ask him or send one to petrcbr and ask him since he is the one that first gave us the microplayer code he should know if the transparent images will work on it. 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:52 am

I've managed to make a transparent frame, it shows perfectly; my problem is now is to get text to appear. I've tried FFFFFF and 00000 colours with no luck.

DreadM
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Transparent Object

Post by DreadM » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:01 pm

Greetings

Hi Benn , try this ini file :

Code: Select all

[PlayerSkin]
EngineVersion=100
Resizable=1,0,1,0
Pos=0,0
Size=250,26
Transperent=1
TimeFormat=mmm:ss

[SongTitle]
Type=Text
ShowLimitH=108
Resizable=1,1,0,0
Pos=5,0
Size=250,20
Transperent=1
TextMask=%S - %A
FontColor=ffffff
FontHeight=-12
FontName=Segoe UI
Scrollable=1
TextAlign=-1
I think the problem was the textalgin and the colour :wink:

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:09 pm

Thanks DreadM, that did the trick :)

Confused as to why the text seems to be hidden when I align it to the right. Doesn't matter too much anyways, thanks again.

DreadM
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Transparent Object

Post by DreadM » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:15 pm

Greetings

Well,

Player size=250

Titel size=498

It was a bit large

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: Transparent Object

Post by Benn » Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:17 pm

Image

Voila, what I was aiming for. Thanks for the help guys.

PS: Using windowblinds for those who are interested.

Post Reply