How to change the background color in selected search text?

If you want to contribute MediaMonkey skins, themes, icons, etc...

Moderators: Morten, Gurus

dip
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:21 pm

How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by dip »

When I select text in the search box of the Casino Orange skin the selected text is not highlighted. I tried to amend the skin using the skineditor to make the selection visible but do not know which value must be amended. Please can anybody explain which value must be amended to change the background color of selected text in the search box.

Thanks a lot for your help.
DreadM
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by DreadM »

Greetings

Sorry got no longer the Casino skin in my skin folder (to Test) so I'm not shure,
but you can try Colors /Edit Selection or Objects / List Box / Item / ActivBitmap
dip
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by dip »

Thans for your answer but this really still drives me nuts! I have now spent hours and don't find the solution. Colors / Edit Selection did not work since it seems only to change the selection color of edited list items but not the selection within the search box. Objects / List Box / Item /ActiveBitmap does not exist. But this was at least a starting point.

I changed to a skin in which the highlighting within the search box works (Royal Grey) and compared the settings of the two skins. Finally I found that I can change the color of the highlighting in the Royal Grey skin search box by changing Object /ListBox / Item / ActiveColor (by the way, this setting also changes the highlighting color in the archive tree). However, this setting does not change anything in the Casino Orange skin. It does not matter what color I set there is always no highlighting at all within the search box. It seems to me that highlighting within the search box is somewhere disabled at all and I don't find where.

I found that there a several skins which don't use highlighting within the search box, e.g. Blue Glass, MM-White_O, NouveauOrange, Spotify-B and even VitreousBlue while others like 5th Gen - Black, CleanMM, Glided, MM-UltimateBlue and Royal Grey work correctly.

Please can anybody point to the difference between these skins that makes highligthing work within the search box.
DreadM
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by DreadM »

Greetings

Ok, still confusing ,mystery Skiningengine :lol:
If you want to change just the font color try this: Fonts/ListItemTextHot
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by rovingcowboy »

you must add the active bitmap it is not there. go to the buttons on the top of the skin engine to the right. and find the one that adds just one active bitmap. place it on the search box's client. you should be able to change that color which might allow you to change your font color?

also you can change the highlight by adding an active bitmap to there?
wait that might be what i said first it has been so long since i did that in the search box. they might have disabled it also. some things we use to be able to do we can't any longer do. did you check my tangerine monkey skin it was the same theme mskn file i used on it that casino orange has. i changed a few colors in there not sure if i got the search changed or not? just checked for you no i did not get it changed in there did not think about it so i'll try and see if i can fix that if i can i'll tell you how i got it fixed since its the same mskn file.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
dip
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by dip »

Eyal explained the solution to this problem in this post http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 20#p238198

It seems that there was a caching problem. Saving a search by hitting Enter solved the problem for me. Anyway, thanks for your help.
dip
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by dip »

I just recognized that the problem is NOT completely solved. I closed and restarted MediaMonkey and the problem reappears. If I input only text WITHOUT pressing Enter the just typed in text cannot be highlighted. As soon as I select a previously saved search text or as soon as I save the current text by pressing Enter everything works fine for this MM session (even for new text which is not saved). But after the next start of MM the same problem appears.

Is there any solution for that?
Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by Mizery_Made »

Same behavior here.

EDIT: Looks as though Bex logged this behavior as a bug last week: 0006230: Blue Glass skin: Selected text doesn't get highlighted in quick search
Eyal
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by Eyal »

Mizery_Made wrote:Same behavior here.

EDIT: Looks as though Bex logged this behavior as a bug last week: 0006230: Blue Glass skin: Selected text doesn't get highlighted in quick search
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: How to change the background color in selected search text?

Post by rovingcowboy »

open the folder you have your files in your are working with to fix this.

open the theme engine.

open the theme.mskn for your skin.

click on objects to expand them.

click on object called Edit to expand it.
click on edit's Frame to expand it.
click on frame's client to expand it to the active bitmap. if no bit map there then put one there by selecting the client.
go to the buttons on top look for the button that adds one TSeActive bitmap with two bitmaps to set up inthe right hand code box, to the selected object. and click it.

now right click on the top bitmap in the code box and browse to the theme image. and pick a lighter color of it for your bitmap.

click on the okay button and get out of the bitmap selection panel.

now do the same for the second bitmap in the code frame on the right.

when you close it you then go to the edit object's Text and expand it to its bitmap and if not one there then repeat as i said to do above to add it to the text. now just save the theme mskn and open it in your testing folder you should see the lighter colors being used for the selection and background in the text area.

i just did that to the tangerine skin i made and it works here.
of course i did not upload it to the site. as it also changes all the text areas for all edit boxes. so you then have to make sure the color for the fonts is working in all them.
so i'm not doing this now as i got tons of other computer fixes to do on my other dell. before i can fix websites and skins again.

but thats how i found to do it.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Post Reply