Program to resize icons?

If you want to contribute MediaMonkey skins, themes, icons, etc...

Moderators: Morten, Gurus

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:06 am

Hello.

I have a set of icons I'd like to use in Mediamonkey.
Seems MM wants 16x16 icons. So I need to resize these icons.
Do you know a program that can do that?

Thank you.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

DreadM
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by DreadM » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:52 am

Greetings

you can try Ico FX can be found here :

btw :can give me a link to the MM icon u use in the screenshot post ( at the bottom )

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:56 am

Hey DreadM.
Thank you for the link.

Here you'll find the MM icon. http://browse.deviantart.com/?qh=&secti ... y#/d2lmhtt
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

DreadM
Posts: 1018
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 1:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by DreadM » Sun Oct 10, 2010 4:41 am

Thanks

Image

:wink:

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Oct 10, 2010 4:46 am

:o
Nice!!!!!

And thank you for IcoFx.
It's doing the job very well. :D
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by rovingcowboy » Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:02 pm

you can use ifanview to make your own icons of any image in any size you want.

just remember some icons look better small and some look better the large 128 x 128 size so pick them carefully.

:D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Oct 10, 2010 1:55 pm

Here is my progress so far:

Image
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Peke
Posts: 12500
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Peke » Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:14 pm

Niceeeeeee!!!!!
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:22 am

Hello.
I have a little problem with icons.
Maybe you can help me?


Here it is.
this is what the icon look like in the icon editor:
Image


And here it is how Mediamonkey shows it in the skin:
Image


There are some unwanted dark pixel appearing and I don't know why. :-?

I zoomed a bit so that you can see the problem more clearly.
Image

Any idea how I can make the icon appears like in my first screenshot?


Thank you!
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:42 am

Ok I found a way.
I changed the background of the icon to match the color in the skin.
Then I changed the icon from 32bit to 24bit.

Now it appears correctly.

But I wonder is there another way to do it? A way that would work with any skin?

Thank you.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Peke
Posts: 12500
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Peke » Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:08 pm

32bit icons tend to make things like that due the Alpha blending used in Vista and 7.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:20 pm

Well. The problem doesn't appear if I use 32bit icons with alpha channel in windows explorer. (win7)

Image
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Peke
Posts: 12500
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Peke » Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:59 pm

The problem is that MM 3.2.x is still written In older version of Delphi which have some issues with 32Bit Alpha blending icons introduced in Vista not windows itself.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:31 am

Peke wrote:The problem is that MM 3.2.x is still written In older version of Delphi which have some issues with 32Bit Alpha blending icons introduced in Vista not windows itself.
Thank you for the info.

I hope this can be fixed in a future version.
That way it would be possible to make a nice icon set that would work for any skin.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Program to resize icons?

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:03 am

Also I noticed that it works correctly with the ratings (half_star_16 , bomb_16, star_16)

Why does it work with these ones and not the others?
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Post Reply