Unable to burn data CD

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

jacksquat

Unable to burn data CD

Post by jacksquat » Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:10 pm

I am unable to burn a data (mp3) CD anymore with MediaMonkey 3.2.0.1294. I have done this dozens of times before with previous versions of MM, and have tried so many options and burned through at least 15 CDs and I am starting to get discouraged. Seriously thinking about going back to 3.1.

I always get this:

Disc 1 (copy 1) burn failed: Could not write the image layout to the disk.

Here is my hpCDE.log file:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/miutjct43gj/hpCDE.log
This created using the latest mediamonkey debug build.

I am using Windows 7 on a Dell Studio 15 laptop, which used to work great.

Any help is much appreciated.

Ludek
Posts: 3379
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by Ludek » Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:01 am

From the log I see the medium has only 300 MB or free space.
Does this problem is related to the particular medium or it fails also for a blank disc?
Could you attach also standard MediaMonkey debug log generated by DbgView app, thx.

welberger
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Southern-Germany
Contact:

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by welberger » Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:33 pm

Hi there,

I do have the same problem. Since I changed to Windows 7 I am not able to burn an audio CD. I'm using Media Monkey 3.2.0.1294 and every time I start burning a CD it works up to 2 or 4 % and then it crashes. I'm not even able to get the CD out of my drive - everything just freezes. I do have to restart the complete system to have access to the CD drive again.

What's the problem?

Burning audio CDs using Windows or other tools is no problem at all. Is there any help available?

Ludek
Posts: 3379
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by Ludek » Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:11 pm

welberger wrote:Hi there,

I do have the same problem. Since I changed to Windows 7 I am not able to burn an audio CD. I'm using Media Monkey 3.2.0.1294 and every time I start burning a CD it works up to 2 or 4 % and then it crashes. I'm not even able to get the CD out of my drive - everything just freezes. I do have to restart the complete system to have access to the CD drive again.

What's the problem?

Burning audio CDs using Windows or other tools is no problem at all. Is there any help available?
Your problem is known and is tracked here: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6234

jacksquat

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by jacksquat » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:53 am

Hello, and thank you for the reply.
From the log I see the medium has only 300 MB or free space.
Does this problem is related to the particular medium or it fails also for a blank disc?
I always start with a fresh CD, don't know why it is only reporting 300 MB of free space, maybe this is a clue? When I watch the progress, it says "burning" and then jumps from 0 to 100% in a couple of seconds. It then spins for about 30 seconds after which i get the error. The disc then has some data burned on it (maybe desktop.ini or something), just no music files.

I am using a custom file format (one of the reasons I love MM), this always worked before, could this be a problem?
Could you attach also standard MediaMonkey debug log generated by DbgView app, thx
.

I will try this on my next CD burn attempt.

Thank you.

welberger
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Southern-Germany
Contact:

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by welberger » Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:22 am

Ludek wrote:
welberger wrote:Hi there,

I do have the same problem. Since I changed to Windows 7 I am not able to burn an audio CD. I'm using Media Monkey 3.2.0.1294 and every time I start burning a CD it works up to 2 or 4 % and then it crashes. I'm not even able to get the CD out of my drive - everything just freezes. I do have to restart the complete system to have access to the CD drive again.

What's the problem?

Burning audio CDs using Windows or other tools is no problem at all. Is there any help available?
Your problem is known and is tracked here: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6234
Hi Ludek,

thank you for the hint. But I am not really sure what to make out of it. I can see that the bugs status is assigned and the resolution is fixed - now what do I have to do get the bug fixed in my MM version? Or do I have to wait for a new version to come out?

Best
achim

Ludek
Posts: 3379
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by Ludek » Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:04 am

Hi, unfotunatelly http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6234 hasn't been fully fixed yet. We are waiting for PrimoBurner ltd. , they will incorporate the fix in the next version of PrimoBurner (3.0.7) and then we will release new version.

tobinu
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:26 am

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by tobinu » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:49 am

welberger wrote: I do have the same problem. Since I changed to Windows 7 I am not able to burn an audio CD. I'm using Media Monkey 3.2.0.1294 and every time I start burning a CD it works up to 2 or 4 % and then it crashes. I'm not even able to get the CD out of my drive - everything just freezes. I do have to restart the complete system to have access to the CD drive again.

What's the problem?

Burning audio CDs using Windows or other tools is no problem at all. Is there any help available?
I am having the exact same issue on Vista. Is there any resolution?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:21 am

tobinu wrote: I am having the exact same issue on Vista. Is there any resolution?
Look at the post directly above yours.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Just Jeff

Re: Unable to burn data CD

Post by Just Jeff » Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:03 am

I fixed mine by reducing the burn speed. http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=36

Post Reply