Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

AlanRackham
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Contact:

Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by AlanRackham »

Just purchase MM 4 and I like that it now handles videos, hence the reason for spending more money on MM. Now is it possible to setup MM so that I can display video on the second monitor and then visualization on the second screen when not playing video. This would be super cool for parties. New Year 2012 is fast approaching :-)
Lowlander
Posts: 47901
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by Lowlander »

No, that isn't possible. Visualizations can be done, and if the whole MM program is in second monitor videos too.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
AlanRackham
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by AlanRackham »

Hi

MediaMonkey programmers, on my wish list today is the ability to control MM in ones monitor and have the video and Visualization on the second monitor. Also have the ability to only use visualization when no video is playing. Would be great for parties and DJ.
rainier

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by rainier »

Any update on this feature?
For me, only the missing feature is this, video or visualization (when playing mp3 only) on the 2nd monitor.
EJukebox can do this but, they don't have crossfading & auto volume level features.

C'mon Media Monkey dev team!
leeviathan

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by leeviathan »

yeah, this is something I've been wanting for ages
Onweerwolf
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by Onweerwolf »

As a possible alternative to the visualization I would suggest CD Art Display. This is free third-party software that allows you to display information and cover art wherever you want, including full-screen on a second display.

During parties I have MM in party-mode setup on my main display and this as my second display:

Image

It has met with a lot of appreciation over here.

CD Art Display is also very customizable, I completely made the above skin myself.

Maybe it could be something for you guys.
Image
leeviathan

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by leeviathan »

that would be...an okay solution, I appreciate the tip! However, after finding this plugin and installing it, mediamonkey no longer will start, so I'll just keep on looking and hoping.
Onweerwolf
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by Onweerwolf »

CD Art Display is not a plugin.
Image
leeviathan

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by leeviathan »

oh, well then what is it? I found this plugin of the same name: http://www.cdartdisplay.com/index.php?c ... 0_fileid=7
leeviathan

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by leeviathan »

oh I see, it is supposed to start cd art display when starting mediamonkey, and fails silently without cd art display installed.
Onweerwolf
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by Onweerwolf »

It's a standalone program. You found the right place but is it possible that you downloaded the plugin that let's you start CAD when you start MM instead of the program itself? If so that's not correct. You need to download the normal program and install it. http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/CD ... 09367710/1
Image
Guest

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by Guest »

this 'display cd cover' thing does not work with video OR visualizations, so it's not really a suitable substitution in any way.

What's being requested is to
have the visualization and video window be the same window and only play visualization when no video being played.
That's what I'm after, and nothing out there seems to do this except your basic windows media player, which unfortunately isn't a very good media manager.
leeviathan

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by leeviathan »

just to give an example of the ideal functionality I'm after (and the thread starter), look at something like windows media player or vlc player.

When you right click the screen in Windows media player you can set the 'visualization' to 'no visualization', 'album art', or a list of available visualizations. Plus it plays videos. This is the exact functionality I think would be ideal for the mediamonkey visualizer.
Onweerwolf
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Visualization or Video on second monitor can it be done!

Post by Onweerwolf »

Guest wrote:this 'display cd cover' thing does not work with video OR visualizations, so it's not really a suitable substitution in any way.

What's being requested is to
have the visualization and video window be the same window and only play visualization when no video being played.
That's what I'm after, and nothing out there seems to do this except your basic windows media player, which unfortunately isn't a very good media manager.
That's why I explicitly mentioned it as an alternative.
Image
Agrajag
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Contact:

Visualizations Full Screen on secondary monitor?

Post by Agrajag »

I assume I'm doing something stupid (nothing new there).

I have three monitors in my setup including having my 70" TV in the mix as the third monitor. I'd like to get it showing my MM visualizations full screen. However, whenever I tell the vis to go full screen, it ignores the screen it's on and goes full on the main PC monitor only.

I tried setting the Full Screen settings under the vis "Configure..." option. There is has entries for three screens numbered 1, 2 and 3 but that seems to have no impact (at least MilkDrop 2.0c has those entries).

What am I doing wrong?

Update: Got it working for MilkDrop due to its built-in monitor selection options but can't get it working for those visualizations that have no such config options. MilkDrop's menu options aren't sticky and it's not entirely bug-free. For example, I had to set both Desktop and Fullscreen to the third monitor to get the vis on the 3rd monitor. Just having Fullscreen set to the correct monitor didn't get it to work alone.

I also had some mixed luck with SOME visualizations using the CTRL-Win-X hotkey to force the current window (fullscreen or not) to the next sequential monitor. Keep hitting it until it's on the screen you want.
Last edited by Lowlander on Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Merged with existing post
Post Reply