How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

To discuss development of addons / skins / customization of MediaMonkey.

Moderators: jiri, drakinite

crap_inhuman
Posts: 813
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:00 am
Location: Friedberg / Hessen / Germany
Contact:

How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by crap_inhuman »

Could you please explain, how the Converter works? How can i try to convert a script?
Metal up your ass !
-----------------------------------------------
I added my first 2 videos on youtube. The language is german.

Discogs Autorisierung: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oryxKKtnEnc
Discogs Tagger Bedienung: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85Wk-5rd-W0
PetrCBR
Posts: 1704
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by PetrCBR »

Simply install using extensions window and then click on new icon in toolbar.
jiri
Posts: 5399
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by jiri »

I'd just add that it simply converts the original VBS code to the new JS, including many API conversions. The resulting JS can be used in MM5 as a native MM5 script, i.e. added to Scripts folder. Sometimes there're almost no more code changes necessary, sometimes much thorough manual changes are necessary (depending on the coding style and language features used). Based on the way the script was used in MM4, some addition to MM UI might be necessary, e.g. if not already done by MM4 VBS code, an addition to MM5 'actions' list or addition to menus or toolbar might be necessary. Feel free to discuss any issues you encounter...

Jiri
Maka
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by Maka »

PetrCBR wrote:Simply install using extensions window and then click on new icon in toolbar.
Hi
Tried this and it doesn't work.
When i click on the icon it does nothing.

Maka
PetrCBR
Posts: 1704
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by PetrCBR »

You need to reinstall convert script.
jiri
Posts: 5399
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by jiri »

To clarify, a new version of the script was uploaded in order to fix the issue, it should work fine now.

Thanks,
Jiri
popsmike
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by popsmike »

jiri wrote:To clarify, a new version of the script was uploaded in order to fix the issue, it should work fine now.

Thanks,
Jiri
Hey Jiri, could you plase add a link to the new script as the only versions i can find are 1.1, unless this is correct but you haven't changed the version number.

Thanks
Mike
Windows 10 Pro x64 2TB USB3 External Hdd with Quad Core 3600Mhz CPU and 10GB Ram
MM 4.1.21.1871 Portable on External Hdd
TESTING MM 5.0.0.2113
Numerous Addons
User Since 2006 (Lifetime License) since 2012
popsmike
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by popsmike »

Thanks for the link but this is the one I was using but its locked so can't post there.
The link a couple of posts above the latest one from jiri is a link to version 1.1 and was wondering if this is still the latest update withoout the version number being changed. Post dated 30th Jan 2017.

thanks again
Mike
Windows 10 Pro x64 2TB USB3 External Hdd with Quad Core 3600Mhz CPU and 10GB Ram
MM 4.1.21.1871 Portable on External Hdd
TESTING MM 5.0.0.2113
Numerous Addons
User Since 2006 (Lifetime License) since 2012
jiri
Posts: 5399
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by jiri »

Yes, it's the latest version. Sorry for the confusion, will include a better versioning scheme in the future.

Jiri
popsmike
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:02 am
Location: Hull,UK
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by popsmike »

jiri wrote:Yes, it's the latest version. Sorry for the confusion, will include a better versioning scheme in the future.

Jiri
Thanks Jiri for the update.
Windows 10 Pro x64 2TB USB3 External Hdd with Quad Core 3600Mhz CPU and 10GB Ram
MM 4.1.21.1871 Portable on External Hdd
TESTING MM 5.0.0.2113
Numerous Addons
User Since 2006 (Lifetime License) since 2012
PhilDG
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by PhilDG »

After downloading the converter and attempting to add it, I'm getting this:

Invalid Product installation package. Missing extension id.

I'm using MMW 5.0.0.2218

I'm assuming there is something else I need to do?
PhilDG
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: How should the VBS-JS Converter works ?

Post by PhilDG »

Hmmm...it works now and I'm not sure what changed. I ran MM5 as administrator but was convinced I'd tried that before
Post Reply