Can I delete Temp files?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

rrfpacker
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:47 pm

Can I delete Temp files?

Post by rrfpacker »

This is a dumb question...I just found 1000s of images (bitmaps and jpegs) in the Temp folder of my Portable MM install. They are album covers that are already embedded in tracks. Can I delete these?
rrfpacker
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:47 pm

Re: Can I delete Temp files?

Post by rrfpacker »

No one?
MMFrLife
Posts: 2776
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Can I delete Temp files?

Post by MMFrLife »

Yes you can. The folders that say MMCache.......
But they will regenerate whenever you play files with artwork again.
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
MMW 4.1.31.1919;
wiki- track properties
; favorite scripts: RegExp Find & Replace 6.0.0.49e.v.,
Magic Nodes 6.0.0.26e.v., Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2, Clear Now Playing Button 1.2, (Backup 6.0 but buggy :(); check out ZvezdanD's scripts; explorer alt. for power users [free]- "Q-Dir"; favorite file/folder renamer- "ReNamer" (den4b)
...always back it up, at least before anything major!!!
rrfpacker
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:47 pm

Re: Can I delete Temp files?

Post by rrfpacker »

MMFrLife wrote:Yes you can. The folders that say MMCache.......
But they will regenerate whenever you play files with artwork again.
Interesting, thank you. At least I can delete them before I backup MM to another drive and save some space.
Lowlander
Posts: 49289
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can I delete Temp files?

Post by Lowlander »

1) You can move the Temp folder (Tools > Options > General) so that any backups don't include it.
2) You can remove the MMCache******_* folders, but they'll be recreated each time you view Artwork in MediaMonkey. They're used for a faster display of Artwork.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
rrfpacker
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:47 pm

Re: Can I delete Temp files?

Post by rrfpacker »

Lowlander wrote:1) You can move the Temp folder (Tools > Options > General) so that any backups don't include it.
2) You can remove the MMCache******_* folders, but they'll be recreated each time you view Artwork in MediaMonkey. They're used for a faster display of Artwork.

thank you
Beer-Man
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:11 am

Re: Can I delete Temp files?

Post by Beer-Man »

I just deleted 3,5 GB (!!!) of files in these folders. This stuff might have gotten a bit out of hand, and I would like to deactivate that feature.
Post Reply