Syncing to SD Card

Get answers about the current release of MediaMonkey for Android

Moderator: Gurus

Clevelandkid
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 12:24 pm

Syncing to SD Card

Post by Clevelandkid » Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:04 pm

Sorry if this has been covered, but my last attempt of putting my Music Library over to an SD card was disastrous.
I am getting a Galaxy S10 Plus and want to know the correct way of syncing my Library to the SD card.

I've been told that "copying" the files to the SD card is incorrect and they should be "moved" rather than "copied" .
Which may be why my music File count on my current phone is now two times what is was, and I am not sure why as I tried to delete the files from the "internal" memory.
And going forward, how will I do subsequent syncs as I add more song files ?

Thanks, CK

Lowlander
Posts: 46503
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Syncing to SD Card

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:28 pm

Easiest is to sync instead of copy: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index. ... oid_device

Move is a bad idea unless you don't want to keep the files on your PC.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Clevelandkid
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: Syncing to SD Card

Post by Clevelandkid » Sun Jan 12, 2020 3:50 pm

Thanks for the reply,
A few questions.

So I should first download MediaMonkey for Android Software to the new device and then do a Sync from my Windows Desktop version to the Android Device ?

If I want to put the download into the SD card rather than the Internal Memory of the Phone, it will ask me where to put it before it downloads ?

I want to be sure it downloads to the SD card in the phone.

So, can I assume that subsequent Syncs in the future will then automatically go into the SD Card ?

Regards, CK

Lowlander
Posts: 46503
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Syncing to SD Card

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:14 pm

Yes, install MediaMonkey for Android first, MediaMonkey for Windows updates it directly.

You'll have 2 Device Profiles, one will be for the SD (external) and so set that one up for syncing.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply