MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey for Android and learn about the newest beta build.

Moderator: Gurus

icejames
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:44 am

MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by icejames »

If I play music in MM via Android Auto via cable, the tags are not displayed correctly. Typically the album title (unknown) and cover art (missing).
If I play the same song in MM via bluetooth only, it works fine.


[IMG]https://thumbs2.imgbox. com/f3/66/bN9g3Acz_t.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]https://thumbs2.imgbox. com/c7/b0/KAWP9wsv_t.jpg[/IMG]

MP3 - https://we.tl/t-n3iNJwcsY8

Mobile: OnePlus Nord2 5G
Car: Toyota Yaris IV 2020(MXPH11)
Peke
Posts: 15769
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Have opted out for MMA Beta (⋮ -> About MediaMonkey) you should have 960 Build installed?
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
icejames
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:44 am

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by icejames »

Sorry wrong category, I have 1.4.3.0950.
Peke
Posts: 15769
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Try to apply for MMA beta, but AA support is updated in MMA 2.0, so best would be to retest when it gets out.

NOTE: Android Auto recently imposed new requirements for supported apps, which are analyzed to comply in MMA 2.0 also :(

EDIT: Usually it is other way around eg. BT not sending correct data, but AA do. Very interesting and I am very happy seeing cars implementing BT AVRCP 1.6 profile in head units/infotainment (Finally :D )
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

When is MMA 2.0 [Beta] going to be available to test?
Peke
Posts: 15769
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by Peke »

Hi,
No estimate, but as SOON as we hammer last quirks :(

It is in extensive internal testing.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

Peke wrote: Fri Sep 16, 2022 4:11 pm Hi,
No estimate, but as SOON as we hammer last quirks :(

It is in extensive internal testing.
This will allow me to sort by YEAR, etc.?
Peke
Posts: 15769
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by Peke »

TheEmpathicEar wrote: Fri Sep 16, 2022 4:18 pm This will allow me to sort by YEAR, etc.?
Yeah Most of it, I see that various track sorting works on whole MMA library using Tracks listing.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

Peke wrote: Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:07 pm
TheEmpathicEar wrote: Fri Sep 16, 2022 4:18 pm This will allow me to sort by YEAR, etc.?
Yeah Most of it, I see that various track sorting works on whole MMA library using Tracks listing.
Hmm, I never tried sorting with Tracks. Makes sense. I was always more focused on sorting album listing by year. It [would] allow me to sort by album year and make choices based on this.
Peke
Posts: 15769
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MP3 Tags in Android Auto not working properly

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Comparing to current MMA behavior It woudl work like this: Tracks -> Artists/Albums/Genre/year/... and whichever you select tracks will be sorted by that.

For now I can't publish any screenshots, but you can find some in this search results https://tinyurl.com/bzd5unbz
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply