Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Get answers about the current release of MediaMonkey for Android

Moderator: Gurus

jiri
Posts: 5417
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Post by jiri »

Have you tried with 1102 and everything fresh (restarted phone, etc.)? What exactly happens, is it like clicking MMA icon and absolutely nothing happening?

Thanks,
Jiri
onki
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:39 pm

Re: Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Post by onki »

Hi,

I am using MMA (2.0.0.1156) and it is no longer displayed in Android Auto.
The only possibility to play audio from MMA is using BT Audio in the car.

The app itself is not listed in the list of available apps in the launcher screen.
It also does not show up in the Android Auto Launcher setup.
The problem occours on my old Galaxy S21 as well as on my new S22. Also on two different cars (VW Passat). The same problem on my brand new Passat with the S22.

Any idea what the problem could be?
It used to work for the last couple of years.

Best regards
Onki
Peke
Posts: 17403
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Most likely Approved Signature check Fail and not list it, you should eb able to enable Unknown AA sourcess and then it will list MMA, other wise wait till Google update hashes and list MMA.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
onki
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:39 pm

Re: Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Post by onki »

Thank you for your feedback.
Since I used Samsung smart switch to transfer the phone content maybe something went wrong here.
Where do I have to enable unknown sources? in Android Auto user interface or the generic app settings?

Update: OK - got it. Need to enable dev mode in AA and allow unknown sources in dev settings.
Will report if it works then.

Update 2: Just had a quick ride and now the MMA icon and functionality is available again.
Thanks for your help.

Best regards
Onki
Peke
Posts: 17403
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Post by Peke »

Hi,
It is very possible that AA Detected MMA not installed from Play store and thus falsely put it in Unknown sources. Anyway we will check if same happen on our test devices.

Please let us know about any changes/results.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
Peke
Posts: 17403
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey for Android no longer works with Android auto

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Does MMA app info say that it is installed off Play store? You can try to uninstall and install it again from play store which should confirm Digital signature of MMA to AA and you should not need to enable dev mode and unknown sources.

Our tests today confirms that if MMA 1156 is installed of play store, is normally visible on AA and there was no needs to enable Dev mode.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to attach PICTURE/SCREENSHOTS to forum posts
Post Reply