Artwork not displaying after file scan

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

Davo
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Davo »

Latest release .exe (not debug)
Artwork is tagged & appears correctly in Properties, but does not display in any views.
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta
Barry4679
Posts: 2439
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Barry4679 »

Hi David,

firstly I can't replicate this.
Your report is brief. These questions may help someone:
  1. You mention a file scan. This is only happening for newly ripped tracks?
  2. Which latest version; 2024.0.0.3005 or 5.1.0.2832? ... See the Help>About panel
  3. Art work shows where in properties? Do you have it stored it "in tag" for each track, or is it stored just once for the whole Album folder?
  4. Which Views are you using? No art in Grid View? No Art in Browser view? ... or you just talking about the Player displays?
  5. Have you already tried the (currently) time wasting procedure shown here? PS. don't do this ATM
Want a dark skin for MM5? This is the one that works best for me .. elegant, compact & clear.
Davo
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Davo »

Hi Barry
1. Newly added tracks via add/rescan
2. 2024.0.0.3005
3. Artwork stored in each track. Appears in Properties -> Artwork - "stored in tag"
4. All views incl grid view, List by album.
5. No
Artwork also does not appear on Android/MMA
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta
Barry4679
Posts: 2439
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Barry4679 »

Davo wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:53 pm 1. Newly added tracks via add/rescan
OK, I tried that. Still cannot replicate the problem.
Is it just one album?

Some album art images ore so over-spec'd that MM has trouble rendering the whole image.
You could try deleting the broken album art image, and replace it with a test image, one that you know does not cause MM indigestion, ie. an image from some other album. ... That works?

You are going to have a delay getting a correct image for the album using MM.
It appears that they have relied upon the unpublished internal workings of a Google product to acquire images from the Internet.
Google has made a internal change which has temporarily broken that part of MM.

But if you don't want to wait you can search for the image using your browser, and then paste that image into the Track Properties panel.
Want a dark skin for MM5? This is the one that works best for me .. elegant, compact & clear.
Davo
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Davo »

About 200 albums
I edit all my artwork & size to 500x500 jpg. Never had a problem till now. The artwork displays correctly in the Properties - Artwork window so MM5 recognises the artwork & knows that it is stored in the tag,
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta
Lowlander
Posts: 56919
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Lowlander »

So presumably the issue you have is displaying Artwork in the Filelisting? If so, what View and which node in the Media Tree?
Davo
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Davo »

The only node/views that displays artwork correctly is Album /Browser view & List view
All other nodes & views as far as i can tell do not display the artwork eg:
Conductor - List by album & album Grid views
Artist - List by album & browser view
Playlist -> Last 5 days - List by album & grid by album views
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta
Lowlander
Posts: 56919
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Lowlander »

Please capture this failure to display Artwork in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=86643

Could there be an issue accessing the Temp folder (set under Tools > Options > General in MediaMonkey)?
Davo
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Davo »

"Could there be an issue accessing the Temp folder (set under Tools > Options > General in MediaMonkey)?"
How would i determine that?

As a further test i've removed the problem files from the database & rescanned them. With a few exceptions this has solved the problem.
So i assume something happened in or after the initial scan. Is it possible that the thumbnail wasn't created or created but not linked to the track?
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta
Lowlander
Posts: 56919
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Lowlander »

Unknown, a debug log capturing the problem would help understand why this happens on your setup.
Ludek
Posts: 4988
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by Ludek »

FYI: There is a known bug already fixed in 3006: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=20736
i.e. the tagged artwork is not picked up during initial scan...
rusty
Posts: 8504
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Artwork not displaying after file scan

Post by rusty »

Hi Davo,

Did the fix that Ludek described solve the problem for you?

Thanks!

-Rusty
Post Reply