Just installed 5.0, however...

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

yesthenmediamonkey

Just installed 5.0, however...

Post by yesthenmediamonkey »

Hi guys,

First time posting here, I have been using Mediamonkey for around 5 years now and just taken the plunge to install 5.0.

I have done this and it seemed to open with the default orange skin (much different to my Nouveau Dark Green Skin by Coach UK) but anyhow.

I have Mediamonkey pinned to my taskbar on my Windows 10 PC for quick access, but every time I load it up 4.0 with my original skin and settings always loads up.

Have I messed up the installation? :o

Input appreaciated, thank you so much for doing such a wonderful job.

*Update* Mediamonkey 5.0 found in C:/ Programfiles/x86 and added to the taskbar, the issue I have is every time I boot up MM 5.0 I get the following error "Media Server 'MediaMonkey Library' could not start: port 58437 is already in use check whether MediaMonkey is already running or change the port# in Options > Media Sharing.

I have checked and 4.0 doesn't appear to be running, I had closed it through Task Manager, my question is, do I need to delete 4.0 and all of it's contents and if I do so will I lose my saved Library, Playlists, Rated songs etc?

Thanks again.

- Yesthen
Lowlander

Re: Just installed 5.0, however...

Post by Lowlander »

MediaMonkey 5 is a separate install from MediaMonkey 4, thus any shorcuts have to be updated/recreated.

If MediaMonkey 5 is up and running with your old Library you can safely uninstall MediaMonkey 4.
yesthenmediamonkey

Post by yesthenmediamonkey »

Amazing, thank you for your response! I am really enjoying 5.0 and as soon as I am satisfied my library is up and running properly I will proceed to remove 4.0.

After playing around for an hour I now keep getting a white screen (Unable to close the program unless I go through Task Manager)