MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

snacks
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 6:37 pm
Contact:

MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by snacks »

Hey all,
Just had to reinstall MM3 (the official release) after another fantastic Vista moment and for some weird reason, and for the first time in years, my .m4as' aren't playing. They show up in the library but MM won't play them. I only have 50 of them out of a collection of 80,000 so it's not a real big deal converting them, but I'm just curious as to why this would be happening now?

As always, great work and very much appreciated,
Snacks
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by nohitter151 »

You need quicktime or quicktime alternative installed to play m4a files.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
snacks
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by snacks »

nohitter151 wrote:You need quicktime or quicktime alternative installed to play m4a files.
Oops. I always had it before but forgot to install

Thanks for the help,
Snacks
RazerOvBlight

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by RazerOvBlight »

i have it installed and plays in quicktime but not in MM although it used to work
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by nohitter151 »

RazerOvBlight wrote:i have it installed and plays in quicktime but not in MM although it used to work
So which version of Quicktime, which ver of MM, etc.?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
torkelh
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by torkelh »

I'm having the same problem, also after updating to the latest official release of MM and iTunes/QuickTime. So that is, MM 3.1.1.1261 and QuickTime 7.6.4. MM still tells me to up the new version of QuickTime.
Owyn
Posts: 2018
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by Owyn »

torkelh wrote:I'm having the same problem, also after updating to the latest official release of MM and iTunes/QuickTime. So that is, MM 3.1.1.1261 and QuickTime 7.6.4. MM still tells me to up the new version of QuickTime.
QT7.6.2 is latest version supported with MM.1261.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 05#p226364

iTunes9/QT7.6.4 is supported by the latest beta release MM.1275
Cogito cogito ergo cogito sum. (Ambrose Bierce)
I drink therefore I am. (Monty Python)
Vista 32bit Home Premium SP2 / MM3.2.1.1297 Gold / Last.Fm 1.0.2.22 / IE8
Dell Inspiron 530 (1.8 Core2 / 2GB)
Skin: Vitreous Blue
Scripts: Add/Remove Playstat|Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix|Album Art Tagger|Backup|Batch Art Finder|Calculate Cover Size|Case&Leading Zero Fixer|DB_Audit|DB_Clean|DB_Schema|Event Logger|Genre Finder|Lyricator|Magic Nodes|MM2VLC|Monkey Rok|MusicIP Tagger|PUID Generator|RegExp Find & Replace|Right Click for Scripts|Scriptreloader|SQL Viewer|Stats(Filtered)|Tagging Inconsistencies
aprzybylo
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by aprzybylo »

I have similar problem, I recently reinstalled MM3 and I use MP4 paid version of AAC converter when I synchronize with my ipod. After that reinstall my mp4 files don`t play anymore on my ipod. I see them but Ipod fails to play them.
torkelh
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by torkelh »

QT7.6.2 is latest version supported with MM.1261.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 05#p226364

iTunes9/QT7.6.4 is supported by the latest beta release MM.1275
Well, the weird thing then is that at my computer at home, this works perfectly with the same versions. That is, MM.1261 and QT7.6.4. But at my office computer, it doesn't. Not that it's a major problem, but it's odd.
aprzybylo
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by aprzybylo »

i have actually 2 problems not sure if they are related but they are consistent:
I synchronize my ipod, i have mixed collection of mp3 and flac files. Before I was converting all files to mp4 format. Since I reinstalled MM3 (or installed 3.1.2 since before I was using 3.1.1) I can't convert to mp4. Files are there but the won't play.
so i changed and i convert now to mp3. meaning files already in mp3 dont get converted (I keep the same format) flac files are converted to mp3. Now all files play on ipod but the ones I convert from flac I don't see the time played (time is always at 0:00)
rusty
Posts: 7318
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by rusty »

Apryzbylo,

I just tested both of the issues that you're facing and cannot reproduce either. Note: I tested with iPhone + 3.0.1 firmware + MM 3.1.2.1276 + AAC plugin 1.06.

-Flac tracks converted without a problem to m4a.
-Flac tracks converted as expected to .mp3 (and seekbar functionality on the iphone worked as expected).

:-?

-Rusty
aprzybylo
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by aprzybylo »

Strange as it doesn't work at all for me. I use Ipod nano 2nd gen if it makes any difference.
rusty
Posts: 7318
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: MM3 isn't playing my .m4a's anymore?

Post by rusty »

Hi,

A debug log might help. See:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=69

That'll give us information needed to figure out why this is happening. Thx.

-Rusty
Post Reply