How to delete Track Volume values?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Mark S
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:33 am
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Mark S »

Sorry to bring this up again. I just can't work out volume levelling so I have turned off everything in MM. Clear (using the script previously mentioned) the Track Volume fields.

I then used MP3Gain to increase volume of an album's tracks by 3db. I then see that MM added values between -1.1 and -4.5 to these tracks. Can I stop this? I just want to be able to adjust volumes outside of MM but have MM ignore whatever I do.

Regards, Mark
dypsis
Posts: 1218
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by dypsis »

Hi Mark.

I am not exactly sure of what you are asking.

Download mp3tag and browse to a file.
Browse to a folder that has some of your audio tracks, right click and select "Extended Tags".
You should see the Replay Gain tags in there.
You can delete them from there, if that is the question you are asking.

The advantage of Mp3tag over other taggers is that it can display all tags, standard and non-standard instead of defined program tags.
Lowlander
Posts: 47968
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Lowlander »

Do you have the option to auto-analyze for unknown volume enabled or perhaps the tags were written by MP3Gain.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Peke
Posts: 13480
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Peke »

Hi,
PLease note that MM5 also read/write all the standard and non standard tags, which you can view/edit in file properties (under custom tab).
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Mr Fresco
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:34 pm
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Mr Fresco »

Hi, hoping someone can help me with this volume issue:
I'm a guitarist using backing tracks through an mp3 player - I have leveled the volume using mp3gain, and they were working well. Somehow, with a few tracks, I seem to have leveled the volume within the actual track eg quiet fade ins are now same volume as rest of track? I've deleted these tracks from laptop, and imported fresh copies (which play perfectly well on another computer!!) and the same volume issue appears when I play the track - same in iTunes as well as MM? Is it a problem with settings in MM? What am I missing? Would appreciate any help - Regards
Lowlander
Posts: 47968
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Lowlander »

Did you delete them from MediaMonkey and PC, then replace them with a new unlevelled copy, or just delete and replace them on the PC?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Mr Fresco
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:34 pm
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Mr Fresco »

Hi, I've replaced them with unlevelled copies from an external source, which show no signs of volume issues on other devices. Cheers
Lowlander
Posts: 47968
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Lowlander »

As you didn't remove them from the Library they still have the values in the database. Remove them from the Library and rescan them into the Library.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Mr Fresco
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:34 pm
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Mr Fresco »

I'm not sure I understand - I've deleted them from MM library, then deleted all trace of them from music folders on my laptop, then added a folder from a hard drive with tracks that are fine, re scanned these into the library, and still have this issue??
Lowlander
Posts: 47968
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Lowlander »

Ah, you said replace so it didn't sound like you had removed them from MediaMonkey. What's confusing here is that you say iTunes also has this issue, indicating it is something with the files.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Erwin Hanzl
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:47 am
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Erwin Hanzl »

@Lowlander: correctly?

A quick note: If the music file has not been re-encoded,
you can enter -99999 in the "Track Volume" field.

Image

OR Addon: Clear Field 1.3 https://www.mediamonkey.com/addons/brow ... ag-fixers/
MMW 4.1.30.1912 Gold-Beta-Standardinstallation | Meine Einstellungen | Bilder hochladen (verwende danach BBCode(Vollansicht-Link))
AutoChangeEqualizer | Clear Field 1.3 | CustomFieldsTagger 1.0.3.0 | Discogs Tagger 5.7.6 | External Tools 1.4.
FindCurrentPlayingTrack 1.3.2 | Lyrics and Comment Viewer 2.2.0.0 | | Randomise Playlist 1.3.
MMA 1.4.2.0938 Free Beta-Tester | Huawei Mate 20 Pro 128GB | Android H3G.AT 10.1.0.4(CT) | USB-Cable-Sync
Win 10 Vers.2004 PRO 64-Bit | Defender mit Echtzeitschutz | I7-3840 QM 2,8 GHz 4-Kern | RAM: 32 GB
Samsung-SSD on board: 840 PRO-512 GB und 860 PRO-2 TB | Extern: SSD T7-2 TB
Peke
Posts: 13480
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Post by Peke »

Hi,
If you have done that and files do not contain replaygain index in file s it should not be imported.
Only way is to either open support ticket and supply us with original file from HDD for analyze or you can use free HEX editor like https://mh-nexus.de/ and load the file to see if you can search for word GAIN (case insensitive) in file.

@Erwin
Good catch I completely forgot on that
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply