How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

John R Leddy
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:33 pm

How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate?

Post by John R Leddy » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:48 am

How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate when playing music files stored as FLAC using MediaMonkey Version 4.0.7.1511 Standard Edition (Unregistered) in Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1?

John.

Lowlander
Posts: 46484
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:13 am

Bit depth: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =bit+depth
Sample Rate has its own column you can enable in the Filelisting (right click column headers to select which columns to display).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

John R Leddy
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:33 pm

Re: How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate?

Post by John R Leddy » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:20 am

Lowlander wrote:Bit depth: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =bit+depth
Sample Rate has its own column you can enable in the Filelisting (right click column headers to select which columns to display).
Lowlander,

Thank you for your prompt reply.

I had come across the thread you mention via DuckDuckGo, but seeing it was from August 2011 I thought I would ask anew.

Thanks for pointing out the Sample Rate column; I missed that one.

My files are all tagged with %bitdepth% values via Mp3tag. Is there a way I can create and display a renamed custom column showing the tagged value within my free version of MediaMonkey?

All the best,

John.

Lowlander
Posts: 46484
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:24 am

No, MediaMonkey can only show columns it natively supports.

You could see if you can get the value into a MediaMonkey custom field so you can display it that way. I'm not familiar with MP3Tag so I only assume it could do this. (http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... erties/4.0)
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

John R Leddy
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:33 pm

Re: How do I display Bit Depth and Sampling Rate?

Post by John R Leddy » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:13 pm

Lowlander wrote:No, MediaMonkey can only show columns it natively supports.

You could see if you can get the value into a MediaMonkey custom field so you can display it that way. I'm not familiar with MP3Tag so I only assume it could do this. (http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... erties/4.0)
Lowlander,

Thank you for the link to the Track Properties Table.

I created a %custom1% tag within Mp3tag and this displays its value in MediaMonkey's Custom 1 column.

There would be no problem in assigning bit depth values en masse within MediaMonkey by highlighting as many tracks as required, right-clicking on a file to choose Properties to open the Edit Properties for multiple files box, choosing the Classification tab and editing the Custom 1 textbox (renamed Bit Depth) to whichever value was required.

However, performing this task has MediaMonkey automatically adding tags which were not asked for or required:
ALBUM ARTIST
ALBUMARTIST
DISC
ENCODER
ENSEMBLE


Clearly a bit dysfunctional.

Two solutions readily come to mind:
1. Add a fully customisable column which allows the user to allocate his or her chosen or created tag value; or
2. Add a %bitdepth% column to MediaMonkey.

Both of which, besides being two minute jobs in themselves, and possibly a more logical approach, have the added bonus of reducing stress on those of us suffering from Tagging OCD!

All the best,

John.

Post Reply