Installation Packages [MM3]

This forum is for questions / discussions regarding development of addons / tweaks for MediaMonkey.

Moderator: Gurus

jiri
Posts: 5336
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Installation Packages [MM3]

Post by jiri » Wed May 02, 2007 6:03 am

I have created a description of how to create Installation Packages for MediaMonkey 3.0 here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... n_Packages

I hope that it will simplify installation of scripts or skins, let me know if you have any problem with creation of your own packages.

Jiri

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Wed May 02, 2007 7:57 am

Is it already supposed to work completely on MM3 Alpha 3?
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

jiri
Posts: 5336
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri » Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 am

Yes, it's already in MM 3.0 for some time, it just wasn't documented until now.

Jiri

Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway

Post by Morten » Wed May 02, 2007 10:12 am

Is there anything we should know about skins? What do we need there, just the install.ini and uninstall.ini + the skin?

Clearification; The reason why I ask is because I get an error saying "Product Installation Error !!!"
Best regards,
Morten

jiri
Posts: 5336
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri » Wed May 02, 2007 11:43 am

That should work fine with skins, i.e. just place the skin, install.ini and uninstall.ini in a ZIP file, rename to MMIP and install. There can certainly be a bug as this is very little tested feature yet, in such a case please e-mail me the MMIP that doesn't work well.

Jiri

Teknojnky
Posts: 5523
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Wed May 02, 2007 12:31 pm

Where is the scripting repository? :-? :o
UpdateURL
URL where MM should look for updates of this product. If this key is missing, MM can still try to find out whether a new version has been released by asking MM web scripting repository using product ID above

jiri
Posts: 5336
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri » Thu May 03, 2007 5:18 am

Where is the scripting repository?
This is a planned part of MediaMonkey web - it should be online soon.

Jiri

jiri
Posts: 5336
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri » Thu May 03, 2007 5:19 am

As for bug reported here - yes, there have been several problems found in alpha 3 and so not all installation scripts work well. This will be fixed in alpha 4.

Jiri

Blake
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Post by Blake » Thu May 03, 2007 5:40 am

I'm guessing that you don't need the [Execute] part for skinning.

Would that be correct?

Blake
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Post by Blake » Sat May 05, 2007 5:54 am

Hmmm... I tried to make a skin MMIP but it had an error.

Could somebody please make a skinning extension template...

TIA

Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway

Post by Morten » Sat May 05, 2007 6:00 am

It will be fixed in Alpha 4. It's a bug with Alpha 3.
Best regards,
Morten

Blake
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Post by Blake » Sat May 05, 2007 6:01 am

Alrighty, thanks

Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway

Post by Morten » Mon May 07, 2007 12:00 am

This functions with Alpha 4. Flawlessly.
Best regards,
Morten

Teknojnky
Posts: 5523
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Tue Jul 17, 2007 2:31 pm

Something I noticed with this for the wmp11 skin installer, if mediamonkey is configured to allow multiple instances, then clicking an .MMIP file will open a NEW instance instead of using an existing one.

This may not be a bug per se, however it is quite annoying behavior.

I would prefer that the MMIP automatically uses an existing instance or that it would prompt and ask which of any existing instance to use, or to open a new instance.

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Barton, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:22 pm

I'm trying to create my first MMIP for a script. How can I create ini file entries? I presume when the "Execute/File/Function" is run the SDB object will be available? Have you added methods to the SDBIniFile object for creating new sections and keys?
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
Send me BTC: 34VQPVsf9mCeR4nfhFvvBYZqQ7LkqNZ8Mn
Send me LTC: 3P1mzrfbyscdhbxRpXLgKz7tufGAU3SrEG
Send me DOGE: 9xPpYSqgF7P5yQiqvE1VqWb4UjxVCCLFJ6
Check out these great cryptocurrency faucets... BTC / LTC / DOGE

Post Reply