why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Get answers about the current release of MediaMonkey for Android

Moderator: Gurus

Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Post by Dan33185 »

Well, I think I figured out why I have such a problem syncing with my sdcard. MMA isn't even seeing the playlists I have in my playlists folder. Here are two images, one taken in ES File Explorer clearly showing 4 playlists, the other in MMA showing 0 playlists in the exact same folder.

Image

Image
Peke
Posts: 13447
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Peke »

Can you open one of those M3Us and check if path to files actually exist and are correct?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Dan33185 »

When I try to open it in MMA, it says "skipping tracks (missing codec)". Here's a picture of the properties in ES File Explorer:


Image
Lowlander
Posts: 47901
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Lowlander »

How are you syncing, what versions of MMA and MMW (if MMW is syncing) are you using and which version of Android.

What is the file format of the music files on those Playlists? Does MMA play the music files by themselves?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Dan33185 »

I'm using USB Sync, with the most current beta versions of both MMA and MMW. The files are MP3, and play fine through the player itself.
Peke
Posts: 13447
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Peke »

I'm guessing that Paths to files are incorrect and MMW can't find them to play.

I would suggest that after skipping you go to MENU -> ABOUT and send debug log while noting LOGID here.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Dan33185 »

LOG ID: P3KF24DHGJ

So now it's finding 3 of the 4 playlists in my playlists folder, and no matter how many times I rescan it, it won't show the 4th.

EDIT-Well, now MMA has actually gone ahead and just deleted the 4th playlist from that folder. (LOG ID: 1ZW6GM36I3)
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Dan33185 »

Dan33185 wrote:LOG ID: P3KF24DHGJ

So now it's finding 3 of the 4 playlists in my playlists folder, and no matter how many times I rescan it, it won't show the 4th.

EDIT-Well, now MMA has actually gone ahead and just deleted the 4th playlist from that folder. (LOG ID: 1ZW6GM36I3)
Anyone get a chance to look at these yet?
Peke
Posts: 13447
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists?

Post by Peke »

Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
bhiefer
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:36 am
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Post by bhiefer »

The screenshot is taken from "Choose library folders" activity. But this activity is for adding media to library. You won't see the playlists here. You can find your playlists from Home activity in "Playlists" node.

Yes I do see that MMA synced these 3 playlists and Phone.m3u is deleted because it is empty. Android often forgets to delete empty playlists and they remain in their DB and can't be deleted in other apps. So MMA deletes this playlist. Is it empty?
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Post by Dan33185 »

bhiefer wrote:The screenshot is taken from "Choose library folders" activity. But this activity is for adding media to library. You won't see the playlists here. You can find your playlists from Home activity in "Playlists" node.

Yes I do see that MMA synced these 3 playlists and Phone.m3u is deleted because it is empty. Android often forgets to delete empty playlists and they remain in their DB and can't be deleted in other apps. So MMA deletes this playlist. Is it empty?

There's about 8,000 songs on that playlist.
Peke
Posts: 13447
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Post by Peke »

Can you send us that M3U in support ticket and can you post screenshot or write path from one track contained that playlist that is located on phone sd card?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Post by Dan33185 »

Peke wrote:Can you send us that M3U in support ticket and can you post screenshot or write path from one track contained that playlist that is located on phone sd card?
That M3U file has been changed since then, and it seems to have synced fine the last few times as well. If it changes, I'll update this post.
Dan33185
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: why does MMA not see my playlists? [#13514]

Post by Dan33185 »

Peke wrote:Can you send us that M3U in support ticket and can you post screenshot or write path from one track contained that playlist that is located on phone sd card?
How do I send an M3U file to you? This is happening again
Post Reply