1292 - Aero Peek broken

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

projectfallback
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:35 pm

1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by projectfallback » Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:19 pm

The first beta build to include Aero Peek functionality worked for me, album art and controls showed up fine.
In the builds following it, it would never load and only show the spinning blue circle, no album art or controls.

The current (1292) and previous build both disabled Aero Peek, so now it just shows the full MM window, as if it were any other application's peek.
Tried it in skinned and non-skinned.

Nothing I do can get it to show, including disabling all plugins.
I've been putting of reporting this since I've seen a few posts saying this problem is 'fixed' in the next build, but the problem always persists for me.

Image Image

The debug log is totally useless, at least as far as I can see, it just repeats this stuff over and over.

Code: Select all

00004081	38.02325821	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 104	
00004085	38.03892899	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004098	38.10289383	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004111	38.16294479	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004125	38.22604752	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004136	38.27791214	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 104	
00004137	38.27797699	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004138	38.27804184	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004139	38.27811813	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 124	
00004140	38.27818680	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 125	
00004141	38.27825165	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 212	
00004145	38.28886032	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004158	38.35089493	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004172	38.41510773	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004185	38.47594833	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105	
00004196	38.52289581	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 125	
00004197	38.52297211	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 214	
00004198	38.52301788	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 211	
00004199	38.52307892	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 125	
00004200	38.52312851	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 124	
00004201	38.52317429	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 213	
00004202	38.52322006	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 212	
00004203	38.52327347	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 104	
00004207	38.53788757	[5096] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
Win 7 64 Bit
Intel C2D 3.6GHz, 4GB RAM, MM 3.2.0.1292, Enhanced Plugin.

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by gpzbc » Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:53 am

I wonder if this is somewhat related to what I am experiencing? My system specs are very similar to projectfallback's.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... &sk=t&sd=a
--
The gpzbc

DeathAxe

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by DeathAxe » Sun Nov 15, 2009 8:27 am

I must confirm still having issues with Aero Peek function, too. Seems as it interferes with your scripting engine. I tested the following things:

1. No Playback and Mainform opened only: OK (Mainform shown)
2. No Playback Mainform and options dialog opened: OK (Mainform shown in aeropeek, but no options dialog)

3. Playback and Mainform opened only: OK (Album cover shown)
4. Playback Mainform and options dialog opened: OK (Album cover shown)

But now:

5. Playback is active and I am using e.g. MusicIP-Script to autotag my files: NOT OK. Both Aero Peek and the preview uppon Alt+Tab show blue circle only. As soon as MusicIP has tagged all files, the preview is updated and OK again. Other Search Scripts don't cause this trouble.

There are also some other situations causing MediaMonkey not to be able to show correctly in Aeropeek, but I have not been able to reproduce them and find out a reason.

rusty
Posts: 7203
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by rusty » Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:30 pm

projectfallback, gpzbc,

I'm able to reproduce this problem on a transient basis, following Deathaxe's suggestion that MusicIP tagger can trigger the problem--i.e. in his case, it's clear that running the MusicIP Tagger addon can trigger the bug, but that the problem only occurs when the script is actively being used--the issue goes away once the script isn't being used. EDIT: further investigation shows that this particular case is related to the libraries used by the MusicIP script--rather than a problem that's generic to the addons framework. See: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6185 .

Can you both tell me:
-does the problem occur for you if you rename the scripts folder (e.g. rename to /noscripts and then restart MM)?
-- if that gets rid of the problem, can you verify which plugins/addons, or view changes trigger the issue?
-- If the problem persists, does it still occur on a clean install? (clean install=ununstall MM to delete registry settings & .ini settings + rename the scripts folder + manually uninstall the DB (rename it) ).

Thanks for your help & patience re. this issue.

-Rusty

[Edited by Rusty: To indicate that I'm mostly interested in whether disabling scripts gets rid of the problem, and which scripts trigger it.]

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by gpzbc » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:50 am

rusty wrote:--does the problem occur for you if you rename the scripts folder (e.g. rename to /noscripts and then restart MM)?
No, renaming the scripts folder does not seem to make any difference. The problem persists.
rusty wrote:-- If the problem persists, does it still occur on a clean install? (clean install=ununstall MM to delete registry settings & .ini settings + rename the scripts folder + manually uninstall the DB (rename it) ).
I have current backups, but I have to be honest, this makes me nervous. Help me understand. Do you want me to uninstall MM, and reinstall MM to test for this bug with none of my library present?
--
The gpzbc

rusty
Posts: 7203
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by rusty » Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:22 pm

I'm grasping and am not sure that we'll find anything, but I'm hoping that perhaps it's related to the views used on your system. To be more specific about what I would like:

1 Rename /Program Files/MediaMonkey/Scripts to .../Scripts2
2 Uninstall MediaMonkey (this will get rid of any configuration settings stored to the registry, along with your C:\Users\gpzbc\AppData\Local\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini file)--if you prefer you can first change MediaMonkey.ini to MediaMonkey.ini.bak.
3 Rename C:\Users\Rusty\AppData\Local\MediaMonkey\MM.DB to ...MM.DB.bak
4 Install MediaMonkey, let it create new MM.DB, new MediaMonkey.ini, new registry entries, and scan your library
Then verify whether the bug occurs.

You can then change back to your old DB if you wish (filters / playlists / etc. will be retained--you'll just lose some view settings such as column order).

-Rusty

DeathAxe

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by DeathAxe » Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:24 pm

OK, I renamed Registry Key, %Local Appdata%\MediaMonkey and MediaMonkey\scripts to make it clean. MediaMonkey still shows installed extensions, as I did not rename C:\ProgramData\MediaMonkey, but this should not be a problem.

First Situation:
1. I let MM add my Music to the new DB.
2. I press the play-button with an empty playlist.
--> Aeropeek shows waiting cursor!

Second Situation:
1. Select all files in themain listview (about 9000).
2. Start "Get albuminfo from freedb". This takes about 2...3s until the dialog pops up telling me not to have an AudioCD in my drive.
--> During these 2...3s Aeropeek shows waiting curser with and without playback enabled.

I think there I could trigger some more situations like the two above, but I am sure to have an idea what is causing the issue:

A windows application does normally have only one main thread. All messages received by e.g. a click on a menu item or windows itself are handled in this one loop. This means if one message handler needs some time to be ready all other messages are queued but not handled. In fact this means a requested paint cycle (WM_PAINT) is not handled during this time, too. I did not study aeropeek-API, but I think it requests a paint operation from the main window/form, if user hovers the taskbar icon to get the image to show in the preview window. Now that e.g. "Get albuminfo from freedb" has been started a bit earlier and is executed in the main thread by default, the requested paint cycle has to wait. As soon as "Get albuminfo from freedb" is ready, aeropeek is updated correctly.

If I start "Get albuminfo from freedb" I get a waiting curser when pointing to the main form, too and I am unable to move the main window as these requests are not handled, too.

This would mean eighter to move all operations to different worker threads or to "cache" a bitmap of MM's mainform or current album art to be used by Aero Peek. So Aero Peek would always show the last valid image. As soon as a WM_PAINT is triggered, the bitmap is updated by a simple copy operation again.

Summary:

I did not test further scripts for being responsible for this issue, as I think the issue is caused by normal limitations caused by Windows' Message structure. Normally a message handler needs only few milliseconds to finish and therefore a paint request by aeropeek is executed quite soon.

Hope this helps you hunting the bug.

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by gpzbc » Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:04 am

I just sent in the requested debug log via PM.
I hope it all helps.
--
The gpzbc

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by gpzbc » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:22 am

I just tested this on a clean install and the problem persists.
I just sent in debug logs via PM.
--
The gpzbc

projectfallback
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:35 pm

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by projectfallback » Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:00 am

Well, I solved the problem.

Turns out I had a shortcut to MM in my Quick Launch that was never changed or removed during any reinstalls or clean installs of MM.

It was running in Compatibility Mode for Vista SP2, although I don't remember setting that, but I must have.

Very embarrassed right now.

I sincerely apologise for any time the developers have put into investigating my problem.

rusty
Posts: 7203
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by rusty » Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:22 am

projectfallback,

Thanks for the update. I'm sure some others will have this problem, so I added it to our knowledgebase:
EDIT -- corrected url: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... icleid=136

-Rusty

Owyn
Posts: 2018
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Canada

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by Owyn » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:03 am

Ummm. I am stuck on the eSupport login when I try to view that link.

It might be an artifact of having just installed LastPass on this system. I tried using my forum login credentials but that failed.
Cogito cogito ergo cogito sum. (Ambrose Bierce)
I drink therefore I am. (Monty Python)
Vista 32bit Home Premium SP2 / MM3.2.1.1297 Gold / Last.Fm 1.0.2.22 / IE8
Dell Inspiron 530 (1.8 Core2 / 2GB)
Skin: Vitreous Blue
Scripts: Add/Remove Playstat|Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix|Album Art Tagger|Backup|Batch Art Finder|Calculate Cover Size|Case&Leading Zero Fixer|DB_Audit|DB_Clean|DB_Schema|Event Logger|Genre Finder|Lyricator|Magic Nodes|MM2VLC|Monkey Rok|MusicIP Tagger|PUID Generator|RegExp Find & Replace|Right Click for Scripts|Scriptreloader|SQL Viewer|Stats(Filtered)|Tagging Inconsistencies

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by gpzbc » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:37 am

projectfallback wrote:Well, I solved the problem.

Turns out I had a shortcut to MM in my Quick Launch that was never changed or removed during any reinstalls or clean installs of MM.

It was running in Compatibility Mode for Vista SP2, although I don't remember setting that, but I must have.
Hmmm. I don't have a single icon in my quick launch. It seems that projectfallback's problem was unrelated to mine.
--
The gpzbc

rusty
Posts: 7203
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by rusty » Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:06 am

Owyn,
I'd posted an incorrect url. It's now fixed. Thx.

gpzbc,
Project fallback's issue could occur if there's an incorrect MM shortcut pinned to the taskbar (even if there's no quicklaunch icon). Do you have a pinned MM icon in the taskbar? If so, try unpinning it, running MM, and then see if the problem is solved.

-Rusty

gpzbc
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:02 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 1292 - Aero Peek broken

Post by gpzbc » Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:37 am

sigh..... It didn't work. I unpinned MM icon. Closed MM, ran MM pinned to taskbar. Same spinning circle.
Oh well. It isn't really that big of a deal, but now I have a personal vendetta against the bug.
--
The gpzbc

Post Reply