Install blocked by Norton

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Install blocked by Norton

Post by tommycrock » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:02 pm

MM4 is looking great :D but...
when I install the latest version (4.0.0.1423) Norton Internet Security causes an error because it thinks it detects a virus. The error is only caused by one file (winamp.exe) and the installer gives the error message
C:\Program Files (x86)\MediaMonkey4001423\winamp.exe
An error occurred while trying to rename a file in the destination directory:
MoveFile failed; code 2.
The system cannot find the file specified.
If I retry, the same occurs. If I ignore then the remainder installs without problem.
Norton gives the following details:
is-p7h98.tmp (Suspicious.Cloud)
This heuristic virus has been removed.
Very few users, very high risk.
I know you don't work for Norton but I thought I'd let you know in case you can do anything about it.
I'm guessing I can't generate a useful log file for you?

Environment details:
Existing MM 3.2.4.1304
Installing MM 4.0.0.1423
Norton Internet Security version 17.8.0.5, fully updated as far as I'm aware.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit | Intel P4 3GHz | 4GB

rusty
Posts: 7160
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by rusty » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:06 pm

Thanks--I'll try to contact symantec about that.

It's just a near-empty file that allows winamp plugins that check for that filename to be installed, and runs MM when double-clicked.

-Rusty

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by tommycrock » Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:52 pm

Cheers. I've 'submitted the file to symantec' or some similar option that was available, hopefully they'll see it's fine and know how to unblock it.

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by tommycrock » Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:25 am

Still getting the same problem :evil: :
c:\program files (x86)\mediamonkey4001436\is-1jpt9.tmp
____________________________
____________________________
On computer as of
24/09/2011 at 11:21:57
Last Used:
24/09/2011 at 11:21:57
Startup Item: No
Launched: No
____________________________
____________________________
Very Few Users
Fewer than 10 users in the Norton Community have used this file.
____________________________
High
This file risk is high.
____________________________
Threat Details
Detection of a threat based on malware heuristics.
____________________________
Origin

Downloaded from Not Available
____________________________
URL Not Available
UNTESTED

Source
is-1jpt9.tmp
____________________________
File Actions
File: c:\program files (x86)\mediamonkey4001436\is-1jpt9.tmp
Blocked
____________________________
File Thumbprint:
0a208504b38b9e7f5b964f1056d4cc40e0c6eca94aa88b31d52fd50c7cae7b3c
____________________________

rusty
Posts: 7160
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by rusty » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:59 pm

Anyone else seeing this? I corresponded with Norton and they said they're not experiencing this problem when they test with MM builds :-?

-Rusty

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by Dreadlau » Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:01 am

I'm not using Norton.
But maybe you could turn off heuristic detection.

After a quick google search for "norton heuristic"
I found this: http://www.ehow.com/how_7172401_turn-of ... orton.html
Might be worth a try.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

mhilbush
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:21 pm

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by mhilbush » Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:21 pm

Yes, I'm seeing this, too. I haven't had a chance to sort it out, but I'll probably just disable Norton's heuristics.
Mark

rusty
Posts: 7160
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by rusty » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:52 am

mhilbush, tommycrock,

Can you confirm whether this problem occurs with MM3 as well?

-Rusty

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by tommycrock » Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:25 am

I can confirm the problem does not occur when I install MediaMonkey_3.2.5.1306 (I've just tried it). I didn't have the problem previously with MM3 either.

mhilbush
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:21 pm

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by mhilbush » Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:10 am

rusty wrote:mhilbush, tommycrock,
Can you confirm whether this problem occurs with MM3 as well?
I never saw it in MM3. In fact, 4.0.0.1397 installs without issue.

I started seeing this shortly after 4.0.0.1397, but I can't put my finger on the exact build when it first occurred...

Update: I started installing builds starting with 1398. I successfully got through 1415. Norton threw the Suspicious.Cloud error on 1416.

Update #2: I observed the following with the builds following 1416.
1418 (there is no 1417) - installs successfully
1419 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1420 - installs successfully
1421 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1422 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1423 - installs successfully
1424 - installs successfully
1426 - installs successfully
1428 - installs successfully
1430 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1431 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1432 - installs successfully
1433 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1434 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1435 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1436 - installs successfully
1438 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1439 - installs successfully

In all failure cases
- MM setup complains about being unable to rename a file (winamp.exe) in the destination directory
- Norton complains about tmp files with names like: is-bqihb.tmp, is-8cu1i.tmp, is-aqai7.tmp, etc.

Peke
Posts: 11766
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by Peke » Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:19 pm

100% false positive, most likely norton tries to speed things by caching common filenames and than checking if they are executable and than throw error about of possible infections :)
Hate when they do that :)
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by tommycrock » Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:09 am

Peke wrote:100% false positive
I'm sure there's no virus there - it's still a bit of a problem!
mhilbush wrote: 1423 - installs successfully
1424 - installs successfully
1426 - installs successfully
1428 - installs successfully
1430 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1431 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1432 - installs successfully
1433 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1434 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1435 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1436 - installs successfully
1438 - Norton throws error, install unsuccessful
1439 - installs successfully
Interesting, I couldn't install 1436 (without turning off Norton) at the time but can now. A lot of this list looks like which builds I installed, certainly 1423, 1424, 1428, 1432, 1436, 1439, so it looks like they're fixing the scan on a case by case basis, which at least means when the release is made it won't constantly fall over on Norton machines.

dean1756
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by dean1756 » Mon Oct 03, 2011 10:00 am

Just thought I'd say that I often have trouble with Norton so I'm no fan! I can't explain why I have so many problems. Doesn't help you I'm afraid but I feel the need to tell people!!

Pman
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by Pman » Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:03 pm

Im using NIS11 atm and all builds have installed with no fuss and none of the errors mentioned above, however i did notice on some earlier builds, around 14xx+, occasionally Norton would say the download is suspicious and its at your own risk to install.

I think Norton is a much better product than the days of before 09 but it can sometimes through up a false positive (then again all other AVs do the same thing too).

I dont know what Norton you are using tommycrock and mhilbush but i would suggest to upgrade to the internet security 2011 (cheap on Amazon atm) or wait until xmas for cheap deals on NIS 2012.
  • W7Ultimate x32 - MM4 - SHABBA!
Image

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Install blocked by Norton

Post by tommycrock » Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:10 pm

Cheers Pman, good to know it's not happening for you. Don't know about mhilbush but I'm using NIS 2010. I'm just trying a free upgrade to NIS 2012, although I don't think I'll be renewing my subscription.

Post Reply