Installer doesn't install COM Object properly

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Installer doesn't install COM Object properly

Postby Melloware » Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:19 pm

I have noticed that when you install MM 3.2 it does not install the COM object with the Installer but instead you have to run MediaMonkey ONCE as Admin for the COM Object to get registered.

I know MM uses InnoSetup for it's installer and since that runs at Admin level it should be easy enough to add 1 line to the Installer to do the COM object registration.

Code: Select all
Filename: {sys}\regsvr32.exe; Parameters: "{app}\MediaMonkey.exe""; StatusMsg: Updating COM Object...; Flags: runhidden


If not my users are getting this strange error if they install MM 3.2 fresh and immediately try and use MonkeyTunes...

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=45495
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
MonkeyTunes - DACP Server for MediaMonkey
Intelliremote - Take Back Control of your HTPC!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:46 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA, US

Re: Installer doesn't install COM Object properly

Postby Melloware » Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:46 pm

Actually I stand corrected. InnoSetup has a built in COM registration flag called regserver. For your Inno Setup it would be in the [Files] section something like this...

Code: Select all
Source: "MediaMonkey.exe"; DestDir: "{app}"; Flags: regserver
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
MonkeyTunes - DACP Server for MediaMonkey
Intelliremote - Take Back Control of your HTPC!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:46 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA, US

Re: Installer doesn't install COM Object properly

Postby stax76 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:38 pm

The root of the problem is probably the people who had this problem did not allow the setup to launch MM because when it's launched by the setup it is launched with admin privileges so you have to manually launch it as admin one time because COM works only properly when it's at least launched one time with admin privileges, nasty MM bug causing me 4 hours headache.
stax76
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:45 am


Return to Bug Reports (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests