MM ignoring default browser

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

ui
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 9:44 am
Location: The Netherlands, NH
Contact:

MM ignoring default browser

Post by ui »

Small bug, but it shouldn't work this way, so I mention it here.

Problem:
When auto-taging from Amazon, the dialogue screen appears with all album info in it: titles, release, label, album cover. When clicking on the album art, MM opens the Amazon web-site in Internet Exploder. However, Firefox is my default browser. I don't like IE at all. Could this be changed, so that MM will use the default browser?
Best regards,
Hans
gege
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: MM ignoring default browser

Post by gege »

ui wrote:Small bug, but it shouldn't work this way, so I mention it here.

Problem:
When auto-tagging from Amazon, the dialogue screen appears with all album info in it: titles, release, label, album cover. When clicking on the album art, MM opens the Amazon web-site in Internet Exploder. However, Firefox is my default browser. I don't like IE at all. Could this be changed, so that MM will use the default browser?
This is not a bug exactly. You need to understand that the "dialogue screen with all album info in it" it's in fact an embedded IE. So, when you click on any link in that dialog, you already have IE opened. It is just instantiating a new window.

You can workaround this by installing the Firefox Viewextension. With that extension installed, you can right-click in any link in the embedded IE and choose "Open link in Firefox".
Anatolik
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 11:04 am
Location: Ukraine, Odessa city
Contact:

:)

Post by Anatolik »

This bug can be easily fixed.
You have to implement IDispatch interface and advise to embedded browser events. Then, you can catch in Invoke the browser event with DISPID_NEWWINDOW2 or DISPID_NEWWINDOW3.

In that event handler - you can get the default browser from Windows registry and run ShellExecuteEx with "open" and URL passed as param. Also, you can set the incoming param CANCEL to VARIANT_TRUE to prevent default action.

Hope, this helps.

We tested this approach - works fine.

P.S. i'm not using FF - i'm Opera user. Your suggested approach won't be suitable for me :(((
Post Reply